Known Johnson

April 19, 2005

Overlooked Alternatives: new releases April 19, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tom @ 10:34 pm

A quiet release week comes as a bit of a relief, giving us all a little time to catch up on releases we’ve missed the past few weeks. There are, of course, still a couple of notable releases, but keep in mind some of those nuggets that might have gotten overlooked recently – Glen Phillips’ excellent new album Winter Pays For Summer comes HIGHLY recommended, as does ex-James lead singer Tim Booth’s Bone. On to the new stuff:

Autechre: Untilted – You think it says “Untitled,” but it really says “UntiLted,” instead. Oh those wacky Autechre boys. Autechre (or, as fans call them, because no one knows how to really pronounce that name, “ae”) are back with another serving of mixed up noise. If you’re not familiar with Autechre, the music is more of an experiment with sound – rhythms are pitted against each other, sounds are extracted and magnified until they’re unrecognizable, beats transform randomly. It’s challenging music, but it can be very rewarding in the right mindset. When it comes to electronic music, these guys have been around a long time, but even I’m hesitant to say that this is a must-have item. There’s only so far you can take the noise aesthetic, and I’m of the mind that maybe ae’s gone about as far as it can be taken and still have it register as some form of music. That said, I’m still intrigued as to what they’ve concocted with their home-made software this time around.

Elvis Costello and the Imposters: Club Date Live in Memphis (DVD) – This one kind of snuck out unnoticed, probably hidden beneath the publicity for next week’s Rhino 2-disc reissue of one of my favorite Costello albums, King Of America. Filmed last year in a small Memphis club in support of his fantastic album, The Delivery Man, this DVD is Elvis’ first. Emmylou Harris even shows up to duet with Elvis on “Heart Shaped Bruise,” “Wheels,” and “I Still Miss Someone.” And not to sound like a major music geek, but getting to see the masterful Pete Thomas on drums is a major plus. In addition to the great tracklisting, there’s also two extras in the form of “Off the Beaten Path: A Road Trip with Elvis and Pete” and “Radio and the Fan.” Speaking of that tracklisting, check it out:

1. Waiting For The End Of The World
2. Radio Radio
3. Mystery Dance
4. Blue Chair
5. Bedlam
6. Country Darkness
7. Blame It On Cain
8. Either Side Of The Same Town
9. High Fidelity
10. The Judgement
11. Monkey To Man
12. The Monkey
13. I Still Miss Someone (w/Emmylou Harris)
14. Heart Shaped Bruise (w/Emmylou Harris)
15. Wheels (w/Emmylou Harris)
16. The Delivery Man
17. Hidden Charms
18. Alison / Suspicious Minds
19. Peace Love And Understanding
20. Pump It Up

Louden Wainwright III: Here Come The Choppers! – I’m actually not familiar with Louden’s music, but I do love the work of his son, Rufus. Blogcritics’ own MuzikMan reviewed this a few days ago here so I won’t bother to duplicate what he said, except to say that if his backing band is any indication (the incomparable Bill Frisell on guitar and a group of very familiar names to Frisell fans – Jim Keltner on drums, David Pilch on bass, and Greg Liesz on various stringed instruments) then this is probably quite a great album. It’s on the list, that’s for sure.

Check back next week – there’s more great stuff than my wallet can possibly afford – and enjoy this relatively quiet release week.


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: