Known Johnson

May 30, 2005

A reasonable excuse for procrastination

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tom @ 10:37 pm

You’d think with a three-day weekend I’d have knocked out a considerable amount of painting, but no – the nursery is still creeping along toward completion. I feel the pressure to get it done but I’m just not rushing it. Perhaps it’s the free-form attitude I’m taking with the room – I have no concrete plans about what’s going to happen in there, and that alone is enough to slow down any progress being made. This tactic has resulted, of course, in many moments of self-doubt and worry, but ultimately that’s when I decide it’s time to lay something permanent down, and I head in, armed with paint, rollers, and brushes, to see what I can do. It doesn’t look like much right now, but what’s there is the fertile ground for a million ideas that I have to pare down to something reasonable. My artistic nature is desperate to take over and overdo everything, or simply get myself in way over my head (at least time-wise,) but that’s also a reason why I’m refusing to rush into anything. Things are slowly falling into place, and as each bit goes down, it all, obviously, starts to make more sense. One of the very reasons I was an art major instead of an English major in college is because of this tendency – I’m not a planner. Make me plan something out and you’ll see a disaster unfold, almost uncontrollably, the deeper involved I get. As unspontaneous a person as I typically am, when it comes to things creative I leave that up to “the moment.” I think King Crimson guitarist Robert Fripp once said something to the effect that it’s all “out there,” art/music/writing, and we just have to be prepared for it to filter through us to the real world. It sounds artsy-fartsy, but it’s really quite a beautiful way of looking at things. Just be open and the possibilities can more readily become realities.

This isn’t to say, of course, that this nursery is going to be a work of art. It just needs to be a piece of me that I feel is accurate and faithful to what I wanted it to be. And, really, the room’s decorations aren’t for the baby – it’s for us adults to enjoy, and as such it’s a little projection of the kind of world we would want to raise our babies in. Not making every effort to make it as perfect as possible doesn’t seem fair, does it?

2 Comments »

  1. You just keep telling yourself that, Tom! tee hee!

    But seriously, I can’t wait to see how it evolves!

    Comment by Lisa — May 31, 2005 @ 7:32 pm | Reply

  2. First, just wanted to let you know that I’ve enjoyed reading your blogs… having been pregnant twice in the last two years, I was able to connect to your experiences.

    Secondly, can you relay to Alissa that I tried to respond to her recent email but for some reason the delivery failed. I’ll try again but can you give her the heads up in case my address is being filtered out or something. Thanks.

    Looking forward to checking back in.

    Laurie

    Comment by Laurie — June 1, 2005 @ 8:55 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

