Known Johnson

June 20, 2005

Exhaustion

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tom @ 10:30 pm

I’m not quite sure I had a weekend. I think it was there . . . something flew by really quickly, but it might just have been a truck or something. There was a period of time between Friday and today, but I’m having a hard time justifying the use of such a casual term as “weekend” to describe it.

Birthing class Saturday morning followed by shopping for maternity clothes, then the evening spent with my parents for Father’s Day #1, then off to Borders to track down a gift for Alissa’s dad, then home. More painting the next day (you people must think I’m painting the friggin’ Sistene chapel in that nursery – I’m just a very cautious perfectionist,) then dinner and the rest of the evening with Alissa’s family, then back to my parents’ house to deliver and install a new keyboard for their computer. Then home, then bed.

At some point in there I think there was some rest, but it certainly doesn’t feel like it. I feel like I’m in the middle of a very long week that started about 9 days ago. This definitely wasn’t helped by the massive accident on the freeway that we take home tonight. What should normally be a 50 minute drive home turned into over two hours spent mostly sitting on a two-mile stretch of the road – and we still had to do some grocery shopping and pick up a prescription! End result . . . I feel completely exhausted and just about ready to break. I know, I know – “get used to it!” I get it already – parents get tired, don’t have much time to themselves, etc., etc., yada yada yada. But parents have something rewarding to justify their exhaustion. There’s nothing rewarding about sitting in traffic . . . the upside (so that I don’t sound like a complete whiner) is that while sitting in traffic I got to listen to two complete CDs that I picked up at lunch today. I could have found other ways to enjoy those in a more relaxing setting, but you take what you can get.

1 Comment »

  1. ah yes, weekends. i remember them with fond affection 🙂 like old friends that you haven’t seen in a while……

    i can’t beleive it’s less than 10 weeks to go!

    Comment by marc — June 23, 2005 @ 9:42 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

