Known Johnson

September 15, 2005

Nipple confusion

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tom @ 10:21 pm

Amanda had her first bottle-feeding tonight, in preparation for a night away from mommy and daddy – Saturday, an ASU football game with Alissa’s dad and brother, who have season tickets. The big concern with breast-feeding is that babies may not take to switching between the natural nipple and the decidedly unnatural one on the bottle, but Amanda seems to have handled it just fine. So far. The night is young, and there are several feedings to go before dawn. We’ll see.

I wish I could say some kind of pattern or habit has formed with regards to feeding and sleeping, but alas it’s just too early for such regimented behavior. We have great nights, where Amanda sleeps almost the entire night save for a single feeding, and we have “bad” nights, where she insists on doing absolutely nothing – not eating, not sleeping, and certainly not being quiet. For hours. Unfortunately, on these nights, I have to find some way to sleep – daddy needs to be able to drive both to and from work, nearly one hour each way, entirely awake. I hate to say it, but sleep has beckoned me numerous times this week while deep in moving traffic. This is not a good thing.

The best thing about this first week back at work has been my shifted work schedule. I’ve forced myself to wake up slightly earlier than usual and get myself going much quicker than usual so I can get to work as close to 7 am as possible. I generally have wandered between 7:15 and 7:30, depending on traffic, but that’s okay. I work through lunch, and then I’m generally out about 3:30 or so. This allows me to come home and actually feel like I’ve got some sort of home life. That’s a rather novel concept, it seems. I’ll do what I can to enjoy it while it lasts . . .

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

