Known Johnson

December 23, 2005

Comfort of creatures

Filed under: General — Tom @ 5:39 pm

Finally, I had a chance to take some pictures of my new Honda Ridgeline. I know you were all waiting on pins and needles, so you can rest easy now. Without further ado:

DSCN2618
 
DSCN2617

Sure, it looks like a normal truck . . .

DSCN2622

. . . with a normal truck bed . . .

DSCN2619

. . . that seems normal, right?

DSCN2621

Except it does something a little different:

DSCN2620

The tailgate swings open to the side to make getting to the trunk easier. That’s right, trunk:

DSCN2613   DSCN2614

As you can see, the trunk is actually quite deep. It fits our stroller with ease, with plenty of room on top for groceries (I know because I just picked up a bunch while the stroller was in there.) It’s about half the length of the bed, and while that may not sound like much, it’s almost the same size as most small car trunks – which is way bigger than the trunks in any other trucks (no other truck has a trunk!)

It’s a truck with car-like comfort. It’s not a hard-core off-roader, but it can certainly take that route for fun once in a while – really, how many people who own trucks actually use them off-road? I admit it – it’s pretty rare for me, too (but I have actually done it!) However, the appeal is having that bed while not giving up a trunk. Having been hindered numerous times by my inability to carry larger items, I welcome the return of a smallish bed to my life. It’ll get used, that’s for sure.

As for the rest of the truck, it’s wonderful – the ride is extremely quiet – the most quiet ride I’ve ever had in any car, let alone a truck. And it’s comfortable like no other truck I’ve owned. There are storage bins and compartments all over the inside of the truck, including the ability to fold the rear seats up to make a cavernous storage area. Creature comforts galore, too – dual-zone climate control, power driver’s seat, heated windshield wipers (like I’ll ever need those in Arizona!), power windows (including a power sliding rear window!), and a very nice 7-speaker, in-dash 6-CD changer stereo. Most importantly, Amanda’s rear-facing carseat fits perfectly – no more sitting inches from the steering wheel like I was forced to in my Toyota Matrix.

And it’s safety-conscious, with all-wheel drive that decides when it’s necessary to be all-wheel, switching from the normal front-wheel drive to all-wheel, or even directing power only to the rear wheels, plus disc brakes on all four tires, a rarity on trucks. It also monitors tire pressure, and if a tire gets low, it’ll set off an alarm so you know to check the pressure. It’s also equipped with front, side, and side-curtain airbags – they come standard, another rarity in a truck, and even among most cars. The truck’s computer also monitors the oil for quality and life left in it, so you know when you actually need to change the oil – rather than just guessing by mileage. It is, without a doubt, the smartest designed truck on the road today, and it’s also the safest, having recently received 5-star crash safety ratings in every category.

So, simply put, I’m absolutely thrilled with my new truck. Not only is it a truck – my most beloved automotive category – it’s also a Honda, and based on the two and a half very satisfying years with Alissa’s Accord, I’m now a devoted Honda enthusiast. Based on the reputation Honda has carefully built its success upon, I don’t doubt there are many, many years of solid performance in either of these vehicles, and we’re likely going to put that to the test.

For a lot more information than I can possibly give, check out these four videos about the truck (the first is about the bed, the second is about the aerodynamics, the third about the engine and drivetrain, and the last is about the interior. Firefox users beware: the videos don’t like to play, so break down and use IE for this site.)

1 Comment »

  1. […] I’ve had my truck just a little over three weeks now. I’ve kept her shiny and clean and new looking, dutifully going out every couple of days with the amazing California Car Duster to take off the latest layer of dust, wiping down the wheels of their coating of deep black new-car brake dust, and generally babying it. I like to keep my cars looking new as long as possible, and that’s usually quite a while […]

    Pingback by Known Johnson » Blog Archive » Collision! — January 9, 2006 @ 9:45 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

