Known Johnson

December 29, 2005

Earthquake

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:16 am

Suddenly last night I had the realization that nothing is ever going to be the same again. I’ve had a few little mental tremors that suggested that, but a big one was set up the other night when talking to one of my oldest friends, who just revealed that he and his wife are going to have their FOURTH child in the summer, when he mentioned that in the evenings his wife plays cards with their oldest (6!) (who reportedly is already a math-wiz like his mom – he does math in his head and memorizes the scores. Yeah, he’s probably going to get beaten up a lot in a few years.) She plays cards with him and he then goes to bed, and then they go to bed. No TV, no outings, no distractions. Work, then time with the kids, then sleep.

Tension quietly built up along mental faultlines for a couple days until the strain cracked open a fault in my thinking – that, contrary to what I’d been thinking, the time spent with your kids now isn’t temporary. I know this sounds elemental, but somewhere back in my brain I was laboring under this impression that after a few months things will slowly shift back to the way they were before Amanda came along, that I’d be on the internet a lot at night again, writing here a lot, that I’d be out at every used record store every week chasing down CDs, that we’d actually have evenings of rest and relaxation to ourselves instead of spent running from Target to Costco to Fry’s for groceries. What I’d failed to realize is that the life before Amanda came into our lives was really the temporary one, and that it’s simply going to take some time to adjust to real life.

1 Comment »

  1. Fry’s carries groceries now??!! I’ve been outside the United States for too long!

    Seriously, though…you’re freaking me out. At this rate, Trevor and I may *never* have kids! 🙂

    Comment by Stacy — December 30, 2005 @ 8:52 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

