Known Johnson

February 15, 2006

Big dumb fun

Filed under: General — Tom @ 11:46 pm

I’m tired, I’ve been stressed out – not for any particular reason, just stressed out, maybe from being tired: clearly a vicious cycle. I’ve got some money saved up from Christmas and selling off CDs, and I won’t say it’s been burning a hole in my pocket, but I’ve really been wondering what exactly I should do with it besides just funnelling it back into more music or just saving it. Something didn’t seem right with that – that I made a big effort to rid myself of some excess CDs, and it’s not going into something “fun” for me. Maybe it’s selfish, but I feel like there have been too many times where I’ve opted to go for the safe thing – music – instead of the “fun” thing, whatever that may be. And so I let the issue sit, figuring that the money isn’t going anywhere, and should something “fun” pop into my head, I should seriously consider going for it. And then something did:

But reason tried to intervene – “Come on, a remote control car? You’re two weeks shy of being 33 years old! This is not the behavior of a 33 year old man – a father, no less.” And so I backed off the idea. But it kept nagging at me, taking me back to much younger days when my biggest concern was getting the battery for one of these things charged quickly to get out and play with it, or tearing it apart to rebuild it again after cleaning it. These are obsessive little tasks that keep a bored mind occupied, and maybe that’s exactly what I need right now. And let’s be completely honest here: I had one of these when I got laid off in 2001 and wound up selling it to get some much needed cash, so it’s not like I’m not one to give in to toys like this.

So, finally tonight I made up my mind: this is my birthday present to myself. I bought the Tamiya TLT-1 Max Climber kit, the remote control, battery, charger, and other assorted small things necessary to bring one of these beasts to life, and as a good birthday present should, it should (if the UPS gods smile upon me) arrive just in time for my birthday next weekend. It’s an expensive diversion, but it’s going to be a fun diversion.

3 Comments »

  1. It’ll be a fun toy. And you’re never too old for toys – I got my dad a remote control boat for his pond a year ago for father’s day. He loves it.

    Comment by Bekah — February 16, 2006 @ 5:12 pm | Reply

  2. I’m really excited for when Amanda is old enough to pass things off as hers. Amanda will be getting a lot of Transformers and GI Joe stuff in a few years . . .

    Comment by Tom — February 16, 2006 @ 9:50 pm | Reply

  3. […] For those who had wanted to keep tabs of my progress on the RC truck I got a couple months ago, here’s the update: it’s done! I’ve taken pictures of the build process, but have yet to actually sit down and do anything with them. It took a surprisingly long time – I know there may have been a couple hundred nuts, bolts, and other assorted fasteners and parts in general, but I’ve built these before at least 3 times in my life, plus broken them down and rebuilt them countless times. This one, however, was a level of complexity several steps up from those previous ones – and that’s what makes it so fun. After a few runs, I’m already planning on tearing down the transmission to see what the hell is making such an annoying, loud clicking sound. It’s good to be a kid, even at 33. […]

    Pingback by Known Johnson | gracefully sleeping forward » Blog Archive » Weeper waits for a thrill — May 16, 2006 @ 11:40 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

