Known Johnson

February 23, 2006

Sign ‘O’ the times

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:39 pm

I guess it was only a matter of time, but now all LiveJournal pages have been blocked at work. (Thanks Websense!) It’s one of the very unfortunate downsides of working in a large corporation – they’re a lot more likely to come down hard on “wastes of time” like the internet, but it’s especially frustrating when you work in an environment that is busy one minute and void of work the next. It’s been like this for the 4.5 years I’ve worked at my current job and it’s just never going to change, but one of the plusses to that kind of work is that I often am left with time on my hands that I have to fill somehow. So reading sites is my time-filler. Unfortunately, now due to blocking LiveJournal, one of my favorites is off-limits to me at work, and my time at home is relegated to not being on the computer so much anymore. Sorry Chris! I’ll try to get around when I can, but I just won’t be around as much, unfortunately.

Sadly, I’m sure Blogger is next, simply due to the sheer number of people on and using it. Why it hasn’t been blocked yet, I don’t know, but it can’t be long now . . .

(And now’s my moment to plug getting off the Blogger/LiveJournal bandwagon and striking out on your own with your own domain! I highly suggest BlueHost, who have been my host for nearly two years now. They’ve been very solid the entire time, with only minimal downtime (I’ve got something like 99% uptime, judging by my stats.) Prices are cheap – as low as $6.95 a month if you sign up for two years, or $9.95 maximum for three months, with other prices in between. Just a happy customer, not a paid endorsement of any kind!)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

