Known Johnson

April 25, 2006

Earworm

Filed under: General — Tom @ 11:48 pm

For the past two days I have had Peter Cetera’s duet with Amy Grant, “The Next Time I Fall,” going over and over and over in my brain. Just the chorus:

“The next time I fall in love
I’ll know better what to do
The next time I fall in love
The next time I fall in love
The next time I fall in love
It will be with you”

Over and over and over and over and over. Oh, and the annoying little burbly keyboard noise that happens during the early part of it, rotating independent of the chorus itself, so I have these two threads of repetition terrorizing my brain simultaneously.

Some researchers have been studying this earworm phenomenon and think that it has something to do with the brain “playing” because it found something intriguing about a particular phrase of music. I can assure them that, in this case, there is nothing intriguing about Peter Cetera and Amy Grant, which leads me to the obvious conclusion: it’s the result of a brain tumor, and I am going to die, the last sounds I hear as the pearly gates beckon me is that goddamned wurbly keyboard and Peter Cetera’s wimpy, nasal voice drowning out the welcoming trumpets of heaven.

1 Comment »

  1. That song crax me up! Back in 1988(ish) I was listening to my local pop radio station (HOT 96FM, I believe) and they had a trivia question along with the song, “Who is the male singer in this duet with Amy Grant.” I called in, was the correct caller and gave the correct answer, thus winning me two front row tickets to the local Amy Grant concert. Needless to say, I was very excited. The concert was actually pretty good, except for the fact that I had to take my mom (I was only 13).

    Comment by stacy — May 5, 2006 @ 1:22 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

