Known Johnson

June 14, 2006

Haiku Forgotten Frisell / Fargo Rock City

Filed under: Music — Tom @ 8:58 am

Forgot Frisell show
He came to Phoenix last night
Read a book instead.

It wasn’t until 8:38 pm last night that I realized that last night was the night of the Bill Frisell show that I’d so been looking forward to. To tell you the truth, dear Reader, after nearly three days of varying migraine pain, I really wasn’t up for it anyway. As much as I love his music, it may just be destined to be love from afar. And that’s okay. Music lover that I am, I’m not much of a concert goer. I will see him someday, when circumstances are just right. They were just not “just right” this time.

Instead I got absorbed in reading Chuck Klosterman’s Fargo Rock City, ordered after reading favorite Blogcritic Mark Saleski’s take on the book. If you grew up in the 80s listening to hard rock and metal as I did, this book is probably going to entertain you quite a bit. I’m only about 50 pages in, so I can’t offer too much in the way of criticism other than to say that his rant about Def Leppard is unwarranted – for a band that stated repeatedly that they didn’t want to be labeled a metal band, to rip on them for not being a metal band is kind of pointless, isn’t it? But, being honest, if he’s as spot-on as he with all the other bands and trends as he seems to be, he’s probably pretty correct about Def Leppard, too. I can take it. And I’m anxious to get back and take some more.

2 Comments »

  1. I read “Fargo Rock City” a few years ago and absolutely loved it. I wasn’t a hard rock/metal fan in high school, but I was definitely aware of it (mainly due to MTV and other kids in school), so the book brought back a lot of memories and made me laugh a lot.

    It’s hard to write a book like this and not irritate at least a few people with inaccurate depictions of random bands. Overall, I think Chuck did a fantastic job.

    It’s a lot better than his second book, “Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs,” which I found entertaining but a bit unfocused.

    Comment by Chris — June 16, 2006 @ 7:29 am | Reply

  2. Tom Johnson,

    Taylor Hicks is striving to make a successful career for himself. He has been working at it for over 10 years. He took a lot of horrible comments from Simon – but took it like a man, never complaining – instead, he just smiled. He is a southern gentleman – always giving praise to his competitors, never showing anger, never acting like a cry baby, and he received most of the MILLIONS OF VOTES. After reading your comments, there must be something wrong with the millions who voted for him, myself included, plus the millions who puchased his record.
    Taylor made people happy, he got people up on their feet and we forget about the screwed up world we are living in today.
    My pension is coming from Ford Motor Co., and I resent the bad mouthing you gave to them. They are a struggling ‘American Company’. Our country has sold itself out…citizens don’t care about supporting american companies, they are also too busy to protest what our Government is doing to its citizens, or what TV is doing to young children. We now live in a country that has very few morals, garbage on tv, we are shown trash even though we pay for cable, families still have to block stuff from their children. There is no longer any middle class, government officials vote themselves pay raises while cutting our soldiers benefits. There are so many things wrong with our country – I wouldn’t want to be raising children nowadays. There are many things you could write about that may make a difference

    Comment by Cherie — July 12, 2006 @ 2:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

