Known Johnson

July 13, 2006

The week in review!

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:04 pm

Or something like that.

First off, let’s congratulate my wife on reaching the last day at her job tomorrow (Friday, I mean, for anyone not reading this Thursday night.) She’s moving on from a job that kept her from doing what she’s been wanting to do to one where she can finally take advantage of the skills she is naturally blessed with, which is editing. And believe me, she loves editing – she edits this site for grammar errors without me even having to ask, just sending me a quick email from work or telling me as we go to bed what I misspelled or misspoke, and she regularly entertains me the injustices of inadequate editing from which our local newspaper suffers, which are many and frequent.

Come Monday, she starts a brand new job doing something she actually loves in a field where she actually has a chance to grow and develop. I’m so happy for her and so proud of her – it’s a hard field to get into. Finding an entry-level position seems to be almost impossible – it’s the typical joke: companies want people with experience, but of course no one can get experience because companies won’t hire them. But opportunity knocked and Alissa opened the door.

What’s been fun the past week is that Alissa’s soon-to-be ex-employer actually fought hard to keep her, fighting so well that she actually accepted a really significant counter offer from them, only to have the new job counter-counter-offer with an ever better offer, which she finally accepted as the final choice.

Amanda’s got four teeth coming in on top . . . at the same time. She’s got a goofy little grin right now that consists of the two bottom teeth that have come in quite a bit, then one tooth on top that’s popped all the way through the gums, then three others on top in varying states of emergence. I can only imagine how uncomfortable it must be, so it probably explains the many mornings of 5am wake-ups and days of cranky, restless behavior.

As for me, well, my week’s not been as exciting, save for that whole Taylor Hicks thing which has been extremely entertaining. Head on over to Blogcritics to read the, as of this writing, 128 comments in response to it. I definitely touched a nerve, I can say that much. Unfortunately, most of the commenters don’t really seem to have much of a grasp of what I was really writing about, illustrating that either their high school English classes failed entirely in teaching what I consider to be one of the most important things people need to learn in order to get through life in modern times, Jonathon Swift’s A Modest Proposal, or blind allegiance to entertainers has elevated itself to an alarming level where no one is allowed to suggest that maybe they’re being overhyped and that – gasp! – someone might not like them. Disagreement, apparently, is simply not allowed when the Soul Patrol is on duty.

I also find it alarming that many seem to consider Taylor Hicks to be it, overlooking the countless musicians who have been struggling and working hard, too, out there on bars’ stages, recording music with the bits of cash they can scrape together, who would never consider doing something as crass and soulless as American Idol to get somewhere with their careers. And that’s not even including the successful names I’m sure most aren’t even aware of. I’m pretty sure if Hicks fans actually knew about someone like, say, Paul Weller, they’d never be able to stomach an instant of Hicks’ gutless soul after hearing what Weller can do with the genre (and if you’re willing to try, I suggest Wild Wood and/or Stanley Road as starting points.)

But what do I know? I’ve only heard many thousands of albums and only spend nearly all my free time reading about and pretty much living and breathing music. I’m obviously not qualified enough to make a judgment on the quality of Taylor Hicks’ music yet. Maybe when I’ve heard, say, 10,000 albums I’ll be trustworthy enough to make a call on Hicks. As it stands, by my estimates, I’ve probably only heard 5,000 albums in the past 20 years. I’m practically a rookie, really. But someday . . .

3 Comments »

  1. I have to say that I’ve found this entire “Tom vs. the Soul Patrol” episode most entertaining. You’ve come through the whole affair unscathed, and eloquent as always. And bravo for the Paul Weller props in today’s post. That’s real white boy soul, folks. Accept no substitutes.

    By the way, I got a promo of Rockford at work tonight. I plan on giving it my undivided attention (along with some other recent acquisitions) very soon. Thanks for the tip.

    Comment by Chris — July 13, 2006 @ 10:20 pm | Reply

  2. i’m happy that you haven’t banned me from your blogroll for admitting that i sorta like Hicks.

    Comment by Mark Saleski — July 17, 2006 @ 9:04 pm | Reply

  3. YET.

    Comment by Tom — July 17, 2006 @ 11:02 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

