Known Johnson

July 27, 2006

Axis of weavil

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:32 pm
  • I apparently never drive alone, for I always have a copilot. Spider is my copilot. Yes, my truck has a semi-permanent passenger in the form of a small black spider, which I noticed running frantically across my dashboard on the way home from work last night. I tried to grab a napkin from the glovebox, but wasn’t fast enough to nab the eight-legged little dude before he tucked himself up into the molding on the driver’s side A pillar. How it got in there in the first place, I don’t know. I’m really hoping it’s a male, because if it’s a female, then I have to worry that maybe it’s hidden a little sac of baby spiders somewhere in the truck just waiting to be hatched . . . and I just can’t handle that.
  • After a couple of months of eating Cars-promotional boxes of Frosted Flakes (Of Corn©, as the box insists on telling you, as opposed to “Of Skin©” or “Of Scabs©,” I suppose,) we have now gotten three of the blue car, one of the “Git-r-done” guy-voiced tow truck, and just today Alissa retrieved a police car from a new box. Those aren’t very good odds. Of five boxes, we should have gotten more than three different automotive choices represented. We’ve been buying these boxes in particular not because we wanted the toy (well, okay, given the choice of two identically priced boxes, I’ll take the one with the toy, but that’s just logical) but because they’ve been on sale cheaper than the other boxes of Frosted Flakes (Of Corn©, naturally.) Buy what’s cheap. But I’ve been trying to figure out why there are so damned many of these boxes that they need to be on these closeout prices. My hypothesis as to why these boxes are so heavily discounted and the other, non-Cars related Frost Flakes (you know, Of Corn©) boxes are not so cheap: Basically, kids got sick of seeing the same damned blue car come out of every box and demanded a different, more rewarding cereal experience, and I don’t blame them, because dammit, that’s disappointing, and I’m 33. I’m not even going to play with the things and I think that sucks.
  • I refuse to believe that chocolate is a trigger for my migraines, despite having had three separate migraines happen within hours of eating chocolate. I love chocolate. I’m like an alcoholic for chocolate. I keep telling myself, “I have to try chocolate again, because it might have been something else that set off a migraine,” but deep down I’m pretty sure it was chocolate that did it. It makes me very sad, but it sure does explain a lot – until a few months ago, there was barely a day that went by that I didn’t eat some chocolate (hey, chocolate’s got those healthy antioxidants!) But I also had nearly daily migraines too . . . yes, I know I’m in denial. There’s always white chocolate, but that’s not really chocolate. White chocolate is like chocolate’s jealous cousin. She’s not as luscious and just isn’t the first one you invite to the party.
  • I am off of work tomorrow and it is a grand thing indeed. I’m burning up a week’s worth of vacation time that I don’t have any use for and would otherwise lose to the dreaded Fiscal Year Rollover which will occur as of August 31. Use it or lose it, basically (it becomes sick leave, which I can obviously only use if I or Alissa and/or Amanda are sick.) So I’ll be figuring out the best way to take the remaining four days after this – one Friday a week, or a couple days over a couple of weeks, or . . . ? I’ll tell you, I’m leaning toward four three-day weekends in a row right now. Doesn’t that sound real
    nice?

    • Except next Friday I won’t be taking off because we have this cool thing at work where we’re going to a local indoor kart race track for a day of fun and racing. I mean, come on, how many times do you get to do something ridiculously stupid during work hours and have it be approved by management? I have to take advantage of that.
1 Comment »

  1. eww..spiders!!

    The coolest thing that we’ve done at work is to entirely close accounting and go to Kentucky Kingdom for the day…. not only on company time..but on company dime…yay!

    Comment by Sandi Rowe — August 2, 2006 @ 3:08 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

