Known Johnson

October 9, 2006

Best Laid Plans

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:19 am

Well, things didn’t go quite as expected with my computer this weekend. I got everything installed by Sunday morning just fine, really, then hit the power button and . . . nothing. Oh, it powered up – fans spun, at least, but the monitor remained black and things remained suspiciously, worrisomely quiet. I rechecked a few things to make sure everything (processor, RAM, video card, etc.) was seated correctly, but it was all fine. What could be the problem?

Consulting the manual a few times, I realized what my biggest problem was: ancient equipment. It seems that in the 6 years since my previous computer build motherboards have grown such power needs that they get a second power source. What for, I don’t know, but all I know is that my power supply didn’t have the 4-pin plug that the motherboard needed to run.

This is when having a two-computer household is handy because I was then able to get on Alissa’s computer and look up what I needed – but not after a completely wasted trip to Fry’s Electronics where I realized that the prices were ridiculously high for really crappy equipment. So back home and online it was – I would have to wait a few days, but I’d save a lot of money and get way better stuff. Should I just buy a power supply and put it in my old case, or go for a new case? The issue being that I don’t actually have enough space in my old case to hold my three hard drives. I think you can guess the answer there.

And then it got even more fun, because WiFi apparently in our case at least, sucks. Up, down, up, down, up, down, up, down – you get the picture, and it was pretty much exactly like that. Five seconds it was up, then it would be down for two minutes, then up for half a minute, then down for a minute. Maddening. It took me hours to look up what I needed to look up.

When all was said and done, after one problem after another, I just had to assume that it was nature’s way of telling me that I needed a few days away from the computer. With a weekend like this, I’m more than happy to oblige.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

