Known Johnson

November 6, 2006

Another new beginning

Filed under: General — Tom @ 11:15 pm

So I’m at it once again – another new site created with the intention of housing my “impersonal” writings: music, TV, movies, etc. I felt odd mashing it all together with stuff about life at home with my daughter and Alissa and so decided to put together a brand new site rather than resurrect The Beautiful Lull, which had become overburdened with spam and, well, I just didn’t want to deal with it anymore. And so Lookout For Hope was born.

Longtime readers may know that my favorite guitarist is Bill Frisell, who just so happens to have an album by the name of Lookout For Hope. I didn’t take this name from that album but from the song of that name and not from that particular album (I know, this seems trivial, but it matters.) Frisell uses a lot of recurring themes in his music and the elements of “Lookout For Hope,” among a few other songs of his, pop up in many places in his songs, something that tickled my brain for many years as I was first getting into him. It was a live version of this song from his online-only album from last year, Further West, where the inspiration struck me to use that title for my site.

There’s more reason than one. I won’t explain everything, but I will say this: the title has two meanings. In this case, I’m applying one meaning to my general outlook on the various entertainment media. I don’t like to focus on the bad. I don’t like to bother writing reviews of things I don’t like unless I feel particularly moved to do so for some reason. I’d rather focus my energy on pointing out things I’d like to see people put their money and time into, rather than wasting my energy spewing anger at why things are so bad. And, the truth is, there’s a lot more good out there than most people want to believe. In fact, I think there’s too much – I can’t keep up. I think we have plenty of reasons to be on the lookout for hope.

I’m still moving in, so things are not quite set up the way I want them to be. And I’m not done with the layout, either – things will be changing for a while until I feel comfortable. But the point is that I got everything up and running for now so that I can just get going.

1 Comment »

  1. not sitename…and nice sentiment about the focus on the good.

    Comment by Mark Saleski — November 7, 2006 @ 6:33 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

