Known Johnson

November 29, 2006

Woe is them

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:31 pm

Julia Roberts was on Oprah last night talking about how hard it is to be a “working mom with kids.” Yeah, let’s hear it, Julia. You know, I admit it, I like Oprah, usually, but there are times when her whole “woman of the people” mask falls off and it did last night when she was talking to Julia about doing something ridiculous during the summer and her thoughts drifting off every day to Julia doing some play night after night. She made some pitiful comment like “It’s got to be so hard working every day on the play and then having to come home to feed the twins.” Yeah, it’s pretty rough, doing those two hours of acting. How about you get up at 5:30 am every damned day, sit in traffic for over an hour, then sit at a boring desk in a dreary-ass cubicle* for 8 hours, then sit in traffic another hour, hour on the way home, make your own dinner, find some time to play with your kid, get her ready for sleep, and then have an hour or two of actual free-time? Every day. Do that and then tell me which life is harder. And I know my life is cake compared to lots of people’s. I only have one job. And I make a lot of money compared to many. I could have it so much harder. So I’m not really complaining here, not about my life. I’m just saying, I don’t want to hear any more celebrities tell me how hard it is to be a celebrity. Because I feel no pity for them. None.

*I have to admit that I do have a very spiffy window through which I gaze repeatedly throughout the day. The other two walls of the cubicle, however, remain dreary-ass.

1 Comment »

  1. Most of the time celebrities piss me off. Stop whining and throwing hissy fits – YOU CHOSE YOUR CAREER, dumb ass. No one threw you into the middle of a movie set, held a gun to your head and said, “ACT NOW, BITCH!”

    And what really gets me is how when someone is trying to “make it” and does anything for attention, and then once they do “make it” and everyone’s clammoring to get a photo of them, they get all pissed off and scream about needing their “privacy.” Oh, give me a break! If they really wanted privacy they wouldn’t have EVER wanted to be an actor.

    And, yes, poor, poor Julia Roberts – it’s got to be TERRIBLE making millions of dollars and having as many nannies and housekeepers and cooks and drivers as you need. It really breaks my little heart that she’s got it so rough.

    Comment by bekah — November 30, 2006 @ 9:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

