Known Johnson

December 3, 2006

Itunes, shmitunes

Filed under: General — Tom @ 8:24 pm

Do you know what I find really annoying about the latest version of Itunes? Even more annoying than the ever-present popping and clicking in playback, as if Apple thought us digital junkies needed to be reminded of modern music’s vinyl roots (a problem I spent two hours attempting to solve late Saturday night – to no avail)? It’s the spotty implementation of cover art.

At this very moment I’m importing the very excellent 4-disc Charlie Parker boxset that I’ve had for years, The Complete Live Performances On Savoy, which, for whatever reason*, I’ve never bothered to rip until now. Disc 1 ripped and Itunes grabbed the correct art. Disc 2 ripped and grabbed completely different artwork for a compilation set derived from this box, but it’s completely different artwork. Discs 3 and 4 ripped and grabbed the right artwork as well. When I attempted to simply copy the artwork from the correct discs to disc 2, it wouldn’t let me. When I went to Amazon, I couldn’t find artwork of the correct size – instead, I find artwork with a giant white border which leaves the real artwork very small. This is just completely stupid – why can’t I copy the artwork from one disc to another? A Google image search is fruitless – this box is apparently out of print and only the compilation is available now, so finding a decently-sized image of the cover is very difficult. Yet somehow Itunes new to do it for discs 1, 3 and 4 . . .

I eventually found something suitable, but it took far longer than it should have. That, afterall, is the whole point of adding the album-artwork finder feature to Itunes, isn’t it?

*Perhaps it’s that some boxes I just don’t seem to like digitizing – I really like enjoying them as a whole. It’s cool to have the immense and informative liner notes with me when I listen, but like all things, it’s just easier to have it in a smaller format to take with me everywhere now.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

