Known Johnson

December 7, 2006

The usual Grammy nomination crap

Filed under: Music,News — Tom @ 7:05 pm

The Grammy nominations are out and, as usual, it’s a bunch of crap for the most part. There are, of course, the occasional nods to genuine great artists and albums, but most of the noms went to stuff that no one will remember in a few years’ time.

Most questionable to me is how Bob Dylan’s fantastic Modern Times went without a best-album nomination despite near universal reviews that stated it as one of the year’s best? And the Flaming Lips’ At War With The Mystics, a tremendous letdown of an album, somehow was nominated (best alternative album, technically – but you get my point)? Or that someone like Neko Case, whose Fox Confessor Brings The Flood came from behind as an initial disappointment to be a sure top-10 for me, has been overlooked entirely? And so many others more deserving of all the attention the Grammies will afford the nominees.

But, let’s look at the bright side for one moment: the jazz nominations were pretty good, even if one of the best albums, Bill Frisell’s collaboration with Ron Carter and Paul Motian, somehow got overlooked, Ornette Coleman’s great Sound Grammar was. Strange is Sonny Rollins’ Sonny Please being nominated – an album I haven’t even heard about, which isn’t slated for release in the US until January 23, 2007, but apparently can be bought on his site for a whopping $17.95 plus additional $6.95 shipping. If it’s really that good, then granola bars to him for the nomination, but it just seems a little strange that something this out-of-left-field would get a Grammy nomination and Frisell wouldn’t.

I suppose that’s how it goes – and that’s why I’m here. Like gold, precious gems, and other precious artifacts, the good stuff requires digging. I’ll keep digging, maybe toss some stuff up on the surface for others to find. I hope somebody’s taking notice.

3 Comments »

  1. The good stuff does require digging. That’s why I never pay attention to the Grammys.

    As far as your surprise towards Ornette Coleman’s nomination: have you heard that album? I only ask because I like him and have yet to hear it. Is your surprise due to the fact that is a bad album? Because I heard some good things about it. Just wondering.

    Comment by Chris — December 8, 2006 @ 2:22 pm | Reply

  2. No, sorry, Chris, maybe I didn’t make that clear – it’s the Sonny Rollins album that I thought was a strange nomination, not the Coleman. Ornette’s album is great! I’m not at all surprised at his nomination.

    Comment by Tom — December 8, 2006 @ 8:31 pm | Reply

  3. […] I quickly found that while the gift items in question were nearly gone (one was found – a whopping $4.80 after 70% markdown from the normal $15.99 price,) there were plenty of self-gifting items available. At 70% off, this was not the time to debate – just buy it if it was deemed interesting. It would be gone, guaranteed, if I opted to pass on it. And so I did buy, within reason – picking up a copy of Kenny Garrett’s latest album, the Grammy-nominated Beyond The Wall (and now I have to add this to my list of deserving nominees that bumped Bill Frisell’s latest album out of the running,) Charlie Haden’s Liberation Music Orchestra, Josh Ritter’s The Animal Years (a seriously fantastic album that I wish I’d jumped on when it came out back in March when I saw it getting all the accolades – only so I could be more familiar with it to place it on my year-end best-of list because it is that good,) a Liars CD single for the album track “Other Side of Mt. Heart Attack” from their seriously warped and fun Drum’s Not Dead (fans of Can, Einsturzende Neubauten, and Animal Collective must check this one out,) and Son Volt’s Austin City Limits DVD. I did get burned on one item, however, and that’s The Move’s Message From The Country – bought on a sort-of whim because I’d heard something off this album at some point and really liked it . . . but I have no idea what or why I liked it because I certainly don’t now. But for $5, it didn’t feel like such an awful plunge to take – I can sell it off for that much and there’s no harm done. But for $36 total (including the gift-CD) it was a really rewarding day of music buying. […]

    Pingback by lookout for hope » Blog Archive » Return to Tower — December 13, 2006 @ 12:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

