Known Johnson

December 12, 2006

In the sick of it

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:40 pm

It’s winter, so you know what that means: it’s disease time. I guess I’ve managed to become a target for some so far unknown bug that has, at this point, not been too awful, but just bad enough to take me out of commission today at least. It took a while to wind up, however – I’ve been feeling pretty dumpy for almost a week, whether due to allergies because of the horrible pollution Phoenix suffers in the winter or the slow build-up of this cold, I don’t know. But today I woke up and just knew that I wasn’t going to work. Sore throat, groggy head, burning nasal passages, achy muscles. Nope, I was down for the day.

In a way, I knew it was coming – I’ve been running around like a headless chicken for weeks, stressing out over stupid things at home and at work, even stressing out over the possibility of getting sick (stressing out, in fact, about getting sick for Christmas like I have so many times in the past.) I just had a feeling my body was just going to suffer a stress fracture at some point.

I don’t even know why I get like this – I just do. I get all wound up inside for no reason. Work, for whatever stupid reason, gets crazy busy between the middle of November and the end of December, the very time of year I absolutely need it to not be crazy busy so that I don’t get sick (because I know how I get when things get busy – I get stressed out, and stress kills your immune system.) I could almost sense the stress cracking like a board snapping in half – one loud crack and things afterward are different. If I’m back at work tomorrow, I know I’ll go in with a much more relaxed state of mind – what gets finished, gets finished, no more stressing. Why I couldn’t have just been like this before, I don’t know, but that’s just now how my mind works. I tend to roll things up in tight little mental bundles that end up unspooling if I get too many things going on at once because I can’t keep track of what I’m doing, and then everything gets tangled together and I can’t make any headway on anything. Having reached my breaking point, I’ll be okay for a while again. And then I’ll just do it again. I never learn.

2 Comments »

  1. […] Despite having a cold, Alissa alerted me to some potential gift items that I knew I had to check out first at Tower. I had to pick up Amanda at her grandparents’ house, which is right by one of the two Arizona Tower locations anyway, so I left a bit early. I really figured I’d be in and out – surely by now there could be little to tempt me, right? Oh how wrong I was . . . […]

    Pingback by lookout for hope » Blog Archive » Return to Tower — December 12, 2006 @ 11:44 pm | Reply

  2. […] You may recall that back in December I complained of being sick a couple weeks before Christmas. Well, it turns out I wasn’t just sick – I had allergies, but very severe allergies that caused an upper respiratory infection. And then I got better . . . sort of. And then I got sick again. And again. And again. And again. For the past three months, I’ve been fighting basically the same damned thing over and over and over and it’s happened any time I’ve done anything outside. I finally went to the doctor about this again a few weeks back and he said it was allergies, not any kind of cold, that was doing me in. Good enough, right, and he gave me some allergy stuff to try out. […]

    Pingback by Known Johnson | extra fancy » Blog Archive » The drugs are working — March 4, 2007 @ 11:46 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

