Known Johnson

December 26, 2006

Santa left me something special

Filed under: General — Tom @ 11:29 pm

For dramatic effect, let me start off this way: in the past 36 hours or so, I have eaten about two pieces of bread, a bowl of rice, and a handful of Saltines. When Santa left our house Christmas eve, presents weren’t all he left.

I woke up Christmas morning and something was just not right, but I didn’t know what yet – something just didn’t feel quite right. I’d not felt quite right Christmas eve, either, but I’d chalked it up to overeating, even though I’d really not eaten all that much, not enough for that kind of stomach ache. I ignored it for the time being – Amanda was up and so I got her up, got her some breakfast while Alissa slept in a bit, and got a loaf of fresh bread baking in our bread machine. It wasn’t too long before I figured out what was wrong.

And so I spent the day darting from gift-giving and opening to the bathroom, unable to eat or drink pretty much anything until late in the day when I dared make some rice when the pain of hunger in my stomach outweighed the gnashing of whatever foul bug had gotten into my gut. I ate a very little bit of it and it seemed to sit fairly well.

As tired as I was, I feared actually going to sleep for how violently unrestful it seemed like it would surely be, but luckily it turned out okay. I only awoke a few times from various things unrelated to being ill, thankfully. I woke up in the morning actually not feeling too bad, but it turned out to be wishful thinking. I let hunger come to me after a few hours and gingerly ate some of the bread I’d baked the day before. When I found that nothing evil happened immediately, I ate another piece. I found quickly that I just didn’t need much, but mostly what I needed was water, so I nursed an ice cold cup all day.

Unfortunately, just when I thought things were going fine I made the brave leap and ate the remaining rice that I’d made the night before. Unwise, as I found out a few hours later. It’s hard to get your brain to accept that it may not feel sick while parts of your body that don’t necessarily directly report their every condition may not be quite up to the tasks you want to undertake. And so I overdid it a number of times, whether food or just being active – I put together a playhouse/slide that Santa brought for Amanda, then spent a good 45 minutes outside with her and Alissa while she played on it and wandered around the yard examining rocks. Shortly after that, I found it impossible to resist sleeping on the couch – something I never do. And I’m sore – everywhere, but especially my calves and forearms. I have found that if I bend my feet the wrong way, the muscles in my shins lock up in excruciating pain. So I try not to do that. It’s harder than you’d think.

Where did this come from? Not sure – I can only assume food poisoning, as I’d think if it were some kind of communicable disease then everyone around me would have it. I was the only one who ate the burger at the restaurant we went to for Christmas eve dinner and I’m the only one sick. But the burger seemed to be cooked just fine, so I don’t know. All I can say is that, for the moment, being a pastatarian sounds real good.

3 Comments »

  1. Abby had the same thing starting around lunch time on Christmas Eve. She mercifully let us eat our holiday dinner before resuming the puke fest for the next 24 hours or so.

    I heard my aunt and cousin also have it and our pediatrician confirmed there is a virus going around.

    So, dear Tom, it was probably not your burger. Don’t blame the burger man. 🙂 Neither Marti nor I have the bug, so if careful, it is possible to avoid it — once you KNOW it’s lurking, that is! The benefit of knowing earlier I’m sure you wish you had.

    Comment by Lisa — December 27, 2006 @ 6:43 pm | Reply

  2. Well, we did go to the Little Germ, I mean Gym on Saturday morning, so it’s entirely possible that I picked up something from one of the little snot-drippers in class. We are apparently the only people who actually don’t take their kid to class when she’s sick. I just didn’t think something that hit so fast and hard would be something other than food-borne. But if your little one got it too, then maybe it was . . . And, wow, am I glad Amanda didn’t get it. I can’t imagine having to deal with that – we’ve managed to evade dealing with any high-velocity body fluid evacuations so far in her nearly 16 months of life. I’d like to continue that record.

    Comment by Tom — December 27, 2006 @ 9:37 pm | Reply

  3. […] The good news is that it wasn’t food poisoning after all. The bad news is that I know that because Alissa got whatever stomach bug that I got . . . and so did her older brother . . . and her mom . . . and her sister. The really good news (so far,) however, is that Amanda has somehow managed to avoid getting this thing, which has been my big fear all week. Knock on wood, cross fingers, pray, whatever it is necessary to continue this through however long it is necessary to get past this – neither of us are up for dealing with ramifications of a spewing toddler. […]

    Pingback by Known Johnson | “Okay, I’m thinking of something orange. Something orange … Do you give up? It’s an orange!” » Blog Archive » Good news/bad news — December 30, 2006 @ 11:26 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

