Known Johnson

February 4, 2007

Sick switchers

Filed under: General — Tom @ 11:37 pm

Well, last week was fun. First Amanda came down with yet another cold around Monday, then Wednesday I woke up with a bit of a burning in my throat. That evening my parents called and said that my mom had gotten the cold that Amanda had so I decided it was in everyone’s best interest for me to stay home with her the next day rather than send her over to Alissa’s family to infect them. I woke up that morning with a much worse sore throat, but had a fun day with Amanda in between bouts of pain. Friday was much the same – my mom was worse, I was home with Amanda and bad TV. And I, too, was worse – but still just a very, very sore throat.

I made it all the way through this morning with that sore throat when it magically morphed into a cold. I could almost feel it transition. I slept terribly – I knew what was coming – awakened every hour or so because I couldn’t breathe, so stuffed up had I become all of a sudden. I awoke with the same awful aching, burning, scraping feeling in my throat, but within a few hours, I felt a heaviness make its presence known in my chest. By afternoon, my speech thickened, my voice lowered, and I spent a good amount of time running to blow my nose to no avail. And the sore throat? Virtually gone.

Amid this, I took on the task of reinstalling Windows because of some weird crap that happened a couple weeks ago, the fallout of which I’ve been dealing with for a couple of weeks because I ran out of time last weekend to do much of anything. But today, after 6 hours, I finally got back up on my feet. While I do like finding relative shortcuts like saving the Profiles folders out of Firefox and Thunderbird so I can reinstall the browser and email program exactly as they were in my previous setup, I’m just sick of having issues like this pop up. One little change, one little bad install (which is apparently what happened that weekend) and everything comes tumbling down in Windows-world. Well, by 9:00 tonight I finally had the majority of important programs reinstalled (browser, mail, Itunes, over 6 dozen Windows Updates, Avast virus scan, Spybot, and CD/DVD-burner/ripper apps,) but I still have myriad other little utilities that I may never fully remember to catch up on. Do you Mac people ever deal with stuff like this, or is it just “install OS and get on with life”?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

