Known Johnson

February 21, 2007

Ikea: Fartful Jerker*

Filed under: General — Tom @ 8:57 pm

Hey, screw you, Ikea. As usual, it’s the consumer that bears the blame for environmental woes, not the companies that produce products. Charging customers for bags? That SUCKS. I don’t care that it’s 5 cents – the cost is not the issue. It’s the principle. It’s the fact that you’re so big-headed that you think you can charge us – it’s the fact that you’re also a foreign company stepping in and, as usual, saying “Dirty Americans, you foul up our environment and for that we punish you!” Well guess what? It’s not us, the buying public’s fault – it’s the companies that produce this crap for us. Go after them and leave us the hell alone. I’m not going to drive around with a bunch of damned reusable bags filling up my trunk. How many of these things are they expecting us to carry? I know when I go to the grocery store I may only need one, or I may need 6 or 7, it just depends on how much stuff I’m buying. Do I really need to fill up my limited trunk space with those bags? And, of course, Ikea is going to charge you for their reusable bags. So I guess the environment isn’t so important that they can give those away, huh?

I’m sick and tired of everything being the public’s fault for using what’s out there for us to use. SCREW YOU, Ikea. I’ll take my dollars elsewhere if I feel like buying furniture. Maybe you should think about repackaging your damned furniture into less friggin’ boxes that just get thrown away. How about that?

*”Fartful” and “jerker” are names of desks that Ikea sells – the former is a children’s desk that means “speedy,” the latter is a Swedish man’s name.

2 Comments »

  1. I totally TOTALLY agree.

    I am really PISSED. I loved Ikea, but now I think they’re ARROGANT as hell. Well screw them!

    If I want cute blonde furniture I’ll get it elsewhere now. I emailed them too.

    customer_care@memo.ikea.com

    I suggest you do the same. SPREAD THE WORD.

    DON’T SHOP AT IKEA.

    Comment by Pissed as hell from being micro-nickled to death — February 23, 2007 @ 1:50 am | Reply

  2. Calm yourself guys. As IKEA is a “European” company charging a small fee for bags is standard process over here. I have lived the last 6 years in Germany. Nearly every store will charge a fee of 5 to 10 cents for each bag you use. Most consumers here go to the store toting their own bags to use. Reusable bags do not take up so much space in my trunk.

    Imagine how much a large chain grocery store spends on plastic bags each year… especially when consumers probably like yourself will ask for things “double-bagged”. Retailers here in Germany save money on that expense and pass the savings on to the customers.

    Appreciate the fact that IKEA is available for you to shop at or not. It is close-minded spoiled brats like yourself that give Americans the image that it does have.

    Comment by Erwin — November 13, 2009 @ 4:27 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

