Known Johnson

March 4, 2007

The drugs are working

Filed under: General — Tom @ 11:46 am

You may recall that back in December I complained of being sick a couple weeks before Christmas. Well, it turns out I wasn’t just sick – I had allergies, but very severe allergies that caused an upper respiratory infection. And then I got better . . . sort of. And then I got sick again. And again. And again. And again. For the past three months, I’ve been fighting basically the same damned thing over and over and over and it’s happened any time I’ve done anything outside. I finally went to the doctor about this again a few weeks back and he said it was allergies, not any kind of cold, that was doing me in. Good enough, right, and he gave me some allergy stuff to try out.

A week later, some things were better, some not, and so I had to go back, but he’s not in and I got “stuck” going to the nurse practitioner who had the only opening that day – and I needed someone that day because I couldn’t sleep very well due to coughing fits at night. I am now convinced that the nurse practitioners are the ones to go see because every time I’ve had experiences with them, they’re the most knowledgeable, most explanatory, and most concerned people in the doctor’s offices. She spent a long time with me asking me a lot of questions, telling me about her experiences with allergies and medicines, and, ultimately, gave me a set of medicine that, in three days took care of the worst of my symptoms. Amazing.

So now I’m on four different allergy medicines, but the combination works pretty well. I’m not entirely perfect, but yesterday I was able to go out in the yard and dig up some dead plants without finding myself feeling awful today – and that’s a first. And let me tell you, I’ve never believed in Claritin – I’ve taken it before and felt nothing, but she told me to get on it and take it religiously, and that I have. I still don’t feel anything, but the one day I forgot to take it I sure noticed the next day that I missed it.

I’m looking forward to a spring in Arizona where I’m actually not afraid to go outside and do things. That’ll be a first.

1 Comment »

  1. Nice to read something positive about NP’s. We try!!

    Comment by fourkidsmom — March 7, 2007 @ 12:09 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

