Known Johnson

March 14, 2007

More than a feeling

Filed under: Music,News — Tom @ 8:57 pm

I looked out this morning and the sun was gone
Turned on some music to start my day
I lost myself in a familiar song
I closed my eyes and I slipped away

Brad Delp’s death March 9 was a suicide, his family says.

I’m not a huge Boston fan yet I find myself more upset by this than I should be – it came as a complete shock. As uncool as it is to say, Third Stage remains the one album of theirs that I find indispensible as a whole – I know it doesn’t measure up to the first two, but there’s something else going on there that just grabs me, perhaps it’s just the fact that they dared begin an album with a ballad (“Amanda”) and then ramp up the rock attitude from there, then carefully taper it back down toward a mellow closer (“Hollyann”), I don’t know. But I’ve always loved it in a completely unironic way. So Third Stage is my way of saying goodbye to the gorgeous voice of Brad Delp. I can’t understand why suicide was the solution, but I can thank you for the music you left behind.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

