Known Johnson

March 18, 2007

The Sunday post

Filed under: General — Tom @ 12:14 pm

For those who were looking for the answer to last week’s big question, “Is Tom’s brain ‘normal’?” Here’s your answer: according to Dr. Brain, everything looks fine. Ask Alissa and she’ll tell you otherwise. So, at least neurologically speaking, things are good. I still don’t understand what the hell is going on, but I’m going to take it as a good sign. I still want the films of my scan – I want to see my brain, man!

And, as usual, I’ve jinxed myself – just before this whole ordeal, I posted saying that the allergy meds were working. Well, as of Wednesday everything stopped working and hell ascended upon my respiratory system. I gave it a couple days to see if it would go away, then called my doctor again. He got me on something to help clear this up right away, but he’s officially put in the order: it’s time to go see an allergist. I’ve never had it this bad, so I’m glad to follow through. I’ll be curious to see just what it is that’s dragging me down so badly.

It hasn’t been fun, I can tell you that. I’m pretty much stuck inside doing not much of anything – I certainly can’t be out in the yard doing what I need to be doing like mowing the lawn and cleaning up plants and such, which is mighty annoying because it’s only going to be relatively cool like it is right now for so long. But were I to do anything like that, I’d risk making this much, much worse. And, at the moment, I can’t imagine how much worse that could be. I can barely talk – my voice is low and scratchy, and at times it’s barely above a whisper, and my breathing is difficult, too. It’s pretty awful, I tell ya. But relief is hopefully in sight – I just have to make a call. Hopefully the receptionists on the other end will actually be able to hear me.

All this comes just days before the concert event of the year for me. Wednesday night, we’ll be getting to see guitarist Pat Metheny and pianist Brad Mehldau in concert at what is purported to be a gorgeous symphony theater in Mesa. The tickets, or the option thereof, were a birthday gift from Alissa. She knew I wanted to go, but didn’t know if I wanted seats from what remained available. They’re toward the back, and it was a hard decision because I typically don’t particularly like sitting too far back, but I decided that this is likely a once in a lifetime event for me – these guys probably won’t be back in Phoenix anytime soon, if ever, and I don’t know that we’ll be able to go again.

And, as luck would have it, Amanda is sick again, it appears. She’s coughing and weezing, seems to be running a temperature, and just doesn’t seem to be her usual spastic 19 month old self. This is worrisome to me not because she can’t handle it – she can, she’s been sick many times before – but because I’m on a short course of steroids for my allergies that could leave me vulnerable to illnesses. What good is a damned drug that might make you get sick?!

Amazingly, Amanda still continues to play pretty much like normal – just a bit less dramatic than usual. She has advanced her dancing skills to include many new moves that now include quite a bit of moving about rather than just bopping back and forth. Sickness cannot hold her back. Music absolutely rules her – this makes her daddy very proud, you can imagine. We bought a tiger-shaped xylophone/piano that she appears to absolutely love. I’ll agree with the Amazon users – the strings for the sticks, while safely short, are just too short to be very useful (the strings they show in the Amazon picture are not what comes on the toy – they’re about half that length and attached at the corners of the xylophone part – kind of misleading.) But the piano keys get the most use anyway right now, musically at least. The strings stay on the sticks because otherwise the sticks will just go on to hit other things and then eventually get lost somewhere that we’ll never find them again.

It was in buying this that we discovered that we have moved from Babies R Us to Toys R Us for toys for Amanda. Babies R Us simply didn’t have any toys for her anymore. Sure, they have some things aimed at her, but she’s really just reached the limit of their aim. I’m kind of relieved, however – there’s just more stuff at Toys R Us in general, and it seems like more registers open most of the time. I don’t know if it’s just our Babies R Us or what, but every time we go, it seems like there’s a store full of people and only one register open.

Who knows what exciting news the next installment will bring?

2 Comments »

  1. Cut the strings on the sticks, tie your own piece of string (or shoe lace, or whatever) to each end and voila, the strings are longer and the sticks are useable.

    Comment by Bekah — March 20, 2007 @ 4:43 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

