Known Johnson

April 11, 2007

Rush – “Malignant Narcissism” leaked to Youtube, of all places

Filed under: Music,News — Tom @ 10:30 pm
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIGjkB_JJ90″>
DAMN! Not much to look at, but who cares. It sounds FANTASTIC! The new “YYZ”?

That’s Geddy on a fretless bass for the first time ever (seriously: producer Nick R. got him one to play around on and recorded the results – and THIS is the outcome!) and Neil on a 5-piece drumset, something we fans have never heard before, either – something he probably hasn’t done since he was about 15 years old, knowing his fascination for large drumsets. Man, the prospects for this album are looking very, very good.

Update: Well, I hope some of you got to check it out. Youtube’s been cleared out of MalNar vids, for the moment, at least. It just goes to show you that when a band doesn’t want something leaked, they can make sure it’s very, very hard to find it. All those leaks that get out and are running rampant around the internet for other releases? The bands and labels aren’t trying all that hard to stop them.

2 Comments »

  1. Hello Coco,
    I just read some of your comments on another website about ‘presto’ being the high water mark album for Rush, and the one that only real Rush fans understand (nudge,nudge,wink,wink).
    I just wanted to say thanks for making me laugh my head off for a few seconds. You really haven’t got a clue, have you? I’ve never heard any serious Rush fan saying ‘presto’ is the greatest rush album, and I’d be stunned if I ever heard anyone spouting the same crap again. The odds of two clowns like you on one small planet are just too astronomical to fathom.
    Thanks again Coco,
    Hawtree

    Comment by mark — April 12, 2007 @ 10:21 am | Reply

  2. Hawtree, I invite you to head over to The Rush Forum or Counterparts, sign up, and join in the conversation there. Ask how much they like Presto and you will receive an overwhelmingly positive response. I can already tell that you like to twist words and take things out of context, but if you’d read what I wrote correctly, what I said was that Presto stands as a fans’ album, the kind of thing that separates “common folk” from “die hards” like me and those on those two boards. It is my personal favorite and it’s many fans’ favorite, too, but I can tell by your demeanor here that you’re probably not the type to get this kind of music in the first place. That’s fine, there’s always 18 other Rush albums for you to choose from. Why you felt the need to come over to my site to post this comment, I don’t know, but I have a feeling part of it was to see if I wouldn’t delete it. Well, guess what, there it is. As for the name calling, I can only put it one way: one of us is acting like a clown here, and one of us is acting like an adult. Guess which one is which.

    Comment by Tom — April 13, 2007 @ 8:41 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.