Known Johnson

April 25, 2007

Idol something-or-other: “Idol gives back”

Filed under: TV — Tom @ 7:38 am

All right, I admit it, I’ve run out of things to play off of “idol.”

It’s “Idol Gives Back” week, where the contestants sing songs of “hope and compassion” or some other such crap, which means it’s just another night of typically bad songs with a few highlights, but this time, votes count toward charity. Awwww.

Chris starts things off with a . . . not awful . . . rendition of Eric Clapton’s “Change The World” where he managed to not sound nasal the entire time. Granted, this is an entirely back-handed compliment, especially given what was to follow: Melinda, taking a completely vanilla Faith Hill song and making it her own, followed by Blake’s surprisingly straight-up take on John Lennon’s classic “Imagine.” Despite what the judges said, it was good, and proves that Blake is likely headed for success after Idol no matter what the outcome is.

And then there’s Lakisha. I can’t hide my dislike for her anymore. I’ve nothing against her voice, because she has powerful pipes. It’s just that she chooses terrible material. Tonight she chose some Fantasia song that I’ve never heard of, which is becoming a trend with her – picking a former Idol contestant’s commercially-available song. It seems like a kiss-up to viewers who know these songs but a bad move when it comes to the judges, who can only say what I’m thinking: the songs are too new and they lack some personal meaning to her. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: she’s not going to make it. She doesn’t have it.

Phil followed with a Garth Brooks song that either never sounded country or that Phil had completely neutered of its country-origins, and the judges properly (but lightly) scolded him on that. That said, it was a decent performance and, as they pointed out, he seems to have found a comfortable niche to work within. That raises a question in me, however: shouldn’t performers work in the niche that they’re interested in, not in the one that listeners respond to? I realize that this is for votes and all, but the judges were encouraging Phil to pursue a country career, but I have never gotten the feeling that Phil was particularly a country guy – he’s more a Michael Bolton crooner type. Just a thought.

What have I told you about Jordin? That she’s going all the way, right? I’ve made the prediction of at least top 3 in the past and even suggested number 1 at least once, and now I’m saying that’s certain, unless viewers do something really awful and stop voting. Tonight was no different. It’s not just her voice, either – it’s a conviction that comes through in her performances, such as in last night’s “You’ll Never Walk Alone,” where her emotions nearly got the best of her and had her trembling by song’s end. Age shouldn’t make a difference, but at just seventeen, she’s a powerhouse to be reckoned with.

Bottom three: This is easy: Chris, Lakisha, and Phil. As I look at some of the Idol pages, many are saying it’s Lakisha’s night to go. I’d like to say I disagree, but they’re probably right, but it’s not based on quality of performance. She and Phil far out-performed Chris, but Chris seems to have a strong grasp on the female market right now, who don’t particularly care if he can sing, only that he’s . . . I guess . . . “cute” (I would say “a creep,” but then I’m not female, am I?) So, yeah, I’ll throw in with everyone else and say, “So long, Lakisha.”

2 Comments »

  1. Tom, you must flee from the Dark Side with all due speed. Don’t you have a Rush album to properly prepare and obsess for? 😉

    Comment by Josh — April 25, 2007 @ 8:09 am | Reply

  2. Sadly, Josh, this IS how I distract myself! I wrap myself up in crappy music to distract my brain from thinking about the countdown to next week – and to keep myself from sitting on the computer, listening to the clips at Walmart.com or just plain downloading the leak. A man can only take so much temptation!

    Comment by Tom — April 25, 2007 @ 8:16 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

