Known Johnson

September 7, 2007

Ipod . . . Unbox . . . do we need these?

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:03 am

So the new Ipods arrived this week, the most exciting, for me at least, being the “Ipod Classic” that is basically the same ol’ Ipod with enormous storage capabilities – 80gb is the smallest of the two models now. I’d love to have the 160gb model, as my Itunes collection is just under 190gb and therefore I could keep all but 40gb (remember, Apple counts the Ipod’s firmware that runs the Ipod with its empty drive space) on my Ipod, but I did just get this model last Christmas, and maybe some restraint is in order when it comes to how much music I need at any given time. If, however, Santa wanted to drop one down our non-existent fireplace, I would more than welcome it . . .

As for the Ipod Touch, well, it’s neat. It’s an Iphone with a bit more storage but no phone. Not enough storage to interest me, however. Wake me when it has at least 80gb of space. But what about these people who bought the Iphone back in June or July, whenever it was, who are complaining about Apple dropping the price? They certainly didn’t complain when they bought the phone, so why now? Have they never heard the term “early adopter”? It means you like to have the latest and greatest regardless of the cost. Who didn’t expect Apple to drop the price before the Christmas season? These people paid the cost to be the first. Boo frickin’ hoo. You get a $100 credit at the Apple store because of your whining. You shouldn’t have gotten anything – we don’t see people who buy cars go running back to the dealer bitching about not getting the sale price a couple months after they bought theirs, do we? People are even bitching that they aren’t getting the features of the latest Ipods in the previous Ipods – using the car analogy, this is like going back to the dealer and demanding to get the features of the latest car model on last year’s car. This is how technology works: something hot and new comes out, and it’s expensive. Those who can afford it and want to afford it, do, and then, pretty quickly, usually, the price comes down so more and more people can buy it. It’s a natural process – early adopters are risk takers, and often they get burned. Usually they just chalk it up to the price of being the first on the block with something cool. In this case, however, the Iphone’s early adopters are a bunch of whiny ass pansies.

In other news, Amazon unveiled its Unbox service this week and, frankly, I’m as unsurprised by its limitations as I am simply underwhelmed by the thought of downloadable movies in the first place. First, they only play on the computer – no “burn to DVD/watch on TV” capability. I have no interest in sitting behind my computer to watch a movie. None. (And who does?) I don’t have a connection from my TV to the computer, so that’s out, too – I can’t imagine that many people do, either. And, of course, Amazon has opted to employ Microsoft’s overzealous DRM scheme, which means that anyone with an Ipod (which is most people) or a Mac is SOL. But, hey, if you’ve got a Zune you’re good to go. (This doesn’t mean that I understand why anyone needs/wants to watch a video on a 2″ screen, however. I guess some people do. I’ll never get it.)

And the price . . . “rental” prices are not bad – most seem to be between $1.99 and $3.99, and you have 30 days to start watching the downloaded file before it is deleted, and after you’ve started watching you have 24 hours, after which it will be deleted. (I have a problem with that limitation – if you’ve got 30 days to start watching, why not allow a 30 day period in which to watch it, period? No limitation other than the 30 day period starting from download would make a lot more sense.) But purchasing a video seems ridiculous – the prices seem to hover between $10 and $19.99 for most. These would be about the same for actual DVDs, so why not just buy the DVD? Not only do you have no limitations other than needing a DVD player, you also get all the extras, packaging, etc. I don’t see any benefit to downloading videos other than that they’re available on demand.

So, in other words, “feh.” I’ll take a 160gb Ipod Classic, however.

3 Comments »

  1. Jesus! 160 gigabytes? That’s just…well…something I need in my life.

    Not until after the wedding, though.

    Comment by Chris — September 7, 2007 @ 10:10 am | Reply

  2. I had to promise to never ask for another present in the next ten years in order to let the wife let me buy the 80 gig model. Plus I had to rescue a few starving children in the Sudan.

    Gezum, to get the 160 gig model I’ll have to God-on-High to come get it for me Himself.

    I have to admit I’ve watched a movie on my ipod but that was during a trip from Chicago to Shanghai, and the inflight movies sucked.

    Comment by Mat Brewster — September 10, 2007 @ 10:17 pm | Reply

  3. Ah, now that’s a use for the movies that I could justify, Mat. Unfortunately, I don’t fly very often, and usually not far (certainly not THAT far!) so I can’t imagine needing movies on my Ipod on a day-to-day basis. I think my manager might frown on me watching them at work . . .

    And, yeah, I’m kind of in the same boat about last year’s upgrade to 80gb. I never expected such a huge jump like that – I really figured it would go to 100, maybe 120gb, and for that I figured I can miss out on this update. This, however, has me going “argh! If only I’d wait a year!”

    Comment by Tom — September 11, 2007 @ 8:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

