Known Johnson

September 19, 2007

Arrivals

Filed under: Music,Video — Tom @ 8:07 pm

UPS dropped off a couple of very exciting packages today: the new Mark Knopfler, Kill to Get Crimson, and Weather Report’s Forecast: Tomorrow box set. Knopfler’s disc is pretty much exactly what I was expecting and hoping for: a comfortable album of his trademark talk-singing (this is called sprechstimme,) tinges of Irish-folk, and that guitar. I don’t much care that there’s nothing surprising going on – when someone’s as good, talented, and enjoyable to listen to as Knopfler, all I really care about is having more.

I can’t really say much about the WR box other than that it’s really beautiful – there’s a huge book inside the box that has a lotta lotta text in it. I haven’t dived into that – either the book or the music – yet, but I’m looking forward to it. This should be about all I need from them – three discs covering their career and one DVD of a concert in 1978. Sounds like a good time to me.

I had been conflicted about the necessity of getting U2’s Popmart DVD (the “deluxe edition,” naturally) right now, but once I saw the thing at Best Buy yesterday, that question was answered pretty well: I needed it. I picked it up tonight while we were out and I’m glad to say it’s a gorgeous, ridiculously over-the-top package, complete with a pop-up Edge inside (the flipping-out action of which required me to show it to Alissa and add in a “doing!” sound as he popped out. I also really liked that if you turn the set over while the book is open, the Edge is printed on the backside so it appears as if he’s jumping up over the book – saying “doing!” as he does so, of course.)

Popmart and David Gilmour’s Remember That Night will fill my Saturday night, as Alissa has an ASU game to attend with her dad and brother. Once Amanda’s in bed, I’ll be sitting down with a bowl of popcorn and watching as much of these as possible (I have a feeling that I’ll only make it through one before overdosing – there’s only so much of any artist I can take at one time, so the extras will wait for a later time.) In the meantime, DVD Audio Extractor will be busy ripping the audio off so I can burn some discs (and then, of course, rip them in Itunes for my Ipod.)

1 Comment »

  1. I have a program/process for ripping DVD audio as well, but it’s not as complete as that app seems to be. Too bad there doesn’t appear to be a Mac OS version of it.

    I’m going to try and watch that U2, which I bought for my birthday, and the AiC Unplugged DVD TWTWIM bought me for my birthday.

    Comment by Josh — September 21, 2007 @ 10:00 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

