Known Johnson

October 18, 2007

A week of doctors

Filed under: General — Tom @ 10:17 am

I’m not sure why, but there was a spam comment in my filter for some “congress check” site, something like that, with this quote from Leonard Brandwein: “Beware of computer programmers that carry screwdrivers.” Looking beyond the obvious annoyance of spam, who the hell is this guy? Anyone know? I can only find entries about this quote. Can a person be known solely for a quote?

This week has felt like a mess. One thing after another has altered the normal flow of day-to-day activities. Monday I got my allergy shots – not my normal day for that. Yesterday I left early to get Amanda her flu shot. Today I have to leave early to go to my foot doctor to get the news on my MRI (more on that in a moment.) The result has been a week in which nothing has felt right. I’ve been “off” all week – so much that I thought yesterday was Thursday even while knowing that it was Wednesday. It was just a very Thursday Wednesday, I guess.

As for my foot, I had an MRI done last week after nearly two months with my orthotics. I’ve had some weird pain and discomfort in my right foot, and the doctor thinks it might be torn muscle between the ball and the heel. That’s really kind of gross sounding, and even worse when I think about how this has been like this since March of 2005. Anyway, her initial solution was going to be injecting cortisone into the area, but she had thought I was talking about my heel. Now that she knows it’s another area, I don’t know what the solution will be. I will find out in about six hours, however. Regardless, I don’t like the idea of a big needle in the bottom of my foot. Let’s choose any other solution than that, okay?

Saw a guy on the way in to work with the license plate “V4MPR.” I saw the sun hit him as we came over a hill. He’s no vampire. He didn’t explode in a cloud of dust. And I’ve also never seen a fat vampire before – and this one driving a Nissan Sentra certainly is not nearly as menacing as one driving something like, say, a 57 Chevy or a Ford Fairlane. Or even better, a hearse. Vampires and subcompacts just don’t make much sense.

Oh, and beware Best Buy.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

