Known Johnson

November 8, 2007

A Phillipe unknowing

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:02 am

In lieu of a title that means anything, you get the above.

Am I the only one amazed at what we come to accept as perfectly normal? When picking up Amanda from my parents yesterday, I was outside watching her play. My dad has this little portable radio with a CD player that also has “nature sounds.” I thought absolutely nothing of the fact that, while outside, they were using that thing with the nature sounds going. I guess when you grew up with a father who regularly sang gibberish in a fake opera voice to your dogs you just come to expect anything.

“Daddy, look at police car!” Amanda said on the way home yesterday, and when I looked, it was a taxi. I told her it was a taxi cab, and she then said, “Daddy, look at taxi car!”

How come every time there’s a new Itunes update (we’re up to 7.5 now) it gets bigger? This time the download is over 61 megabytes. And yet there really aren’t any new features.

No pictures of the house just yet, sorry – it was too dark when I got home last night and I was on a mission to get the name/number of the painter who did our neighbor’s house. I can really think of better ways to spend $1400, people, but that’s better than I was expecting. Let’s hope that’s a number that’s repeated when I talk to the painter. Or, even better, less.

Tonight is all environmentally-aware programming on NBC. BORING. They did this last year and produced one of the worst hours of TV I’ve ever seen, maybe THE worst – the episode of My Name is Earl that made me never watch the show again. If this is a night of preachy, boorish attacks on us “little people” about how we need to be carpooling and driving hybrids while the stars of the shows scoot around in their Hummers and limos, I’m going to be seriously pissed. Do they actually think programming like this actually makes a difference? Who watches comedies and goes, “You know, that Dwight on The Office is right. The earth is a fragile and delicate gem that I cherish. I’m going to buy a Honda Insight right now.”

Speaking of that, on the way in to work, the big freeway-alert signs read “High Pollution Advisory: Carpool – Ride the Bus.” It’s a bit late for that, don’t you think? Should I have turned around, gone home, and found someone to carpool with?

I’m amazed that I’ve been able to pull off double-duty so far – Lookout For Hope has been updated about as often as this site, somehow. We’ll see how long that lasts.

I’ll have what she’s having:

2 Comments »

  1. Seriously. The going green thing is going to be dead in a year (okay, maybe a year and a half) and we’re going to be all up in arms over something new.

    And yeah I read earlier that all of NBC’s shows are doing the “green awareness” crap this week. Glad I don’t watch NBC. Oh, except for Heros.

    Comment by bekah — November 8, 2007 @ 9:27 am | Reply

  2. I think you should have watched My Name Is Earl this evening. Several jokes were all about making fun of NBC forcing them to incorporate “Green” into the show even though it didn’t fit.

    Comment by Uncle Midriff — November 8, 2007 @ 10:55 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

