Known Johnson

November 13, 2007

The restless and the weary

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:04 am

Restless night. Had one of those strange sleeps where I slept very hard and deep and woke up with a start, certain that it was time to get up. It was 12:30 – I’d slept 90 minutes. The rest of the night was spent tossing and turning. I can feel it today – blech.

Christmas has begun . . . or at least Christmas shopping has begun as of last night. We hit Toys R Us for this big train track for Amanda. That’s right, my little girl is into trains. No dolls for this one, apparently. While Amanda and Alissa waited in the car, I slipped into TRU to grab one of these boxes, which managed to be both bigger and heavier than I remembered it being, while they were still on sale, and while we still had a $10 coupon. I lugged the thing out to the car, wrestled it into the trunk, and found it wouldn’t fit. The one time we don’t take my truck . . . Back into the store for some twine and we were finally done. It only took . . . far longer than it should have. However, this is going to be one of those epically fun gifts – Amanda has been pining for these every time we go in to the store, and they have them under these protective plastic covers so they can’t actually be played with. She wants so badly to play with them. Now she’ll get to.

I will reveal an even deeper level of dorkiness when I admit that I’m actually a little excited to see if the CD I ordered from Amazon (Queensryche’s Take Cover, which comes out today) is being shipped from their new warehouse here in Phoenix. Think about it, man! If so, this means that anything in that warehouse will get to me in a day.

Why do people need to put stickers that represent their family on their car windows? You know – several pairs of sandals in different sizes to indicate dad, mom, and the kids, and paw prints for the pets, etc., or even just little cartoon drawings of the family.

I don’t know who these are for. What is the statement being made? You know your family. No one else cares. So . . . ?

This goes along with the “In Memory of” stickers that are on half of the rear windows of the cars I see. What, exactly, is “in memory” – the window, the whole car? Usually when a dedication like that is made, it’s done on something actually created by the person. You know, like a book or a piece of art. Something that required some effort. It’s not usually added to a something that is basically 100% stock. I might understand it if the car was a super made-over car, done by the person who died or done in their honor, but when it’s a factory-fresh Hyundai Santa Fe, well, I don’t get it. I did see one guy who had the whole hood of his car airbrushed with the face of the deceased and a dedication next to it. Now that is dedication.

I have come to the conclusion that helicopters are more impressive than airplanes.

3 Comments »

  1. I hate the sticker-families, too. I also hate the little fishies… you know, the Jesus fish? The two big Jesus fish and the ten or twelve little Jesus fish. I just don’t get why people would like that. And yeah, the “in memory of” thing is pretty stupid on a car.

    Comment by bekah — November 14, 2007 @ 1:27 pm | Reply

  2. Because people have to show how christian/atheist/open-minded/liberal/conservative they are by plastering stupid ugly annoying crap all over the backs of their vehicles. It requires very little action on their part, and they get the satisfaction of all their like-minded friends telling them, “Whoa, I’m really digging the fish/Darwin-fish/co-exist/Hillary/Anti-Immigration sticker on your car, man.”

    Comment by Uncle Midriff — November 14, 2007 @ 10:52 pm | Reply

  3. […] mentioned my feelings about the vinyl “dedicated to”/”in memory of” stickers that adorn many car […]

    Pingback by Stomaching? Ferociously. — February 19, 2008 @ 6:28 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

