Known Johnson

November 17, 2007

Have a holly jolly Jimimas

Filed under: General — Tom @ 4:22 pm

I just got some email from “Jimi Hendrix Earthblues.” I bought some official bootlegs from the online Hendrix store years ago – many years ago – and I’ve been receiving crap from them ever since, both of the electronic and paper mail kind, and it always goes into the same place, whether it be electronic or paper: the trash. I’ve got what I need, thank you very much, and if I happen to need more, I know where it’s at.

When I get these things, I’m always astonished at how little music is actually associated with Hendrix now. It’s not about the music anymore. Hendrix is a brand, not just a musician. Most of the various communications that the Hendrix estate has with us is to hawk something bearing his name or face, but not his actual music. Buy this wall flag! Calendars! Infant t-shirts and hats! Incense burner for when you want to “relive your past” (wink wink nudge nudge)! Don’t forget your official Jimi Hendrix Christmas ornament!

Hey Santa, where you goin' with that sack in your hand?
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

