Known Johnson

November 18, 2007

It’s the CPU, not me.

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:26 pm

Man, it is really disappointing to find two comments in pending only to discover that they’re spam – or I guess I’m assuming they’re spam. One compelled me to visit some “sure thing” gambling sites, the other requested help paying off student loans. Maybe it’s just the pessimist in me, but I smelled a rat.

I set out with absolutely no intention of doing so, but once I was out this afternoon to buy some diapers for Amanda, something told me to do some Christmas shopping. I’m glad I did because now I’m nearly done for at least one prominent member of this family. I shall remain vague about the details.

Amanda loves us. She has taken to proclaiming her love frequently and with great gusto, doling out hugs and kisses as often as possible. Tonight, while waiting for dinner to cook, she told me this from the front window of her little push-car a number of times and it was very sweet, reaching out to hug me and give me a kiss quite a few times. She then got out of her car, bent down to a little yellow remote control car that she loved it, then gave it a kiss. So I’m not so sure she’s quite grasped the real concept of love yet.

Biscuits were had, and they were good. Not as good as I’d wanted, because dinner wound up being a fiasco. I wanted to make . . . and I’m drawing a complete blank here . . . “crispy baked chicken with crumb stuff on it” in the oven to compliment it, but only discovered that I was missing a primary ingredient – crumb stuff – after I’d already gone to the store. So onto the grill they went, pretty much numbing the meal I’d had in my head. It wasn’t what I’d really wanted. Sigh.

And now Amanda appears to be sick. She’s had some sort of stomach thing going on the past couple of days, which has been fun, let me tell you. There are few times when I really enjoy diapers but I’m so, so glad they exist right now. I can’t imagine trying to deal with what’s happened the past two days without them. Now she’s sneezing a lot and developing “crusty nose” as of bedtime tonight. Double sigh. I was hoping to make it a bit longer before colds set in – at least past Thanksgiving, because the two of us will certainly be next.

I am officially sick of dealing with computers. I’m currently arguing with this very computer, the one I write most of this site’s content on. We’re disagreeing with how resources are used, if I understand things correctly. Basically, if I want to rip a CD, it doesn’t want me doing much else, and makes it known in pretty obvious ways. For starters, taking 20 minutes to rip a friggin’ CD, that’s ridiculous. It knows that, and it’s just doing it to spite me. But that’s not all. Right now, I’m ripping Harold Budd’s Avalon Sutra and every few letters, the screen will simply stop showing what I’m typing, which makes it pretty difficult to self-edit as I go along. So if there are errors, please forgive. It’s the CPU, not me. I am at the point where I will probably never build another computer again – bang for buck, yes, but dealing with annoying stuff like this is just not worth it. Dell, you may have a new customer someday, and I hate admitting it.

1 Comment »

  1. Maybe it’s just the pessimist in me, but I smelled a rat.

    HAHAHAHA.

    Comment by bekah — November 19, 2007 @ 9:30 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

