Known Johnson

December 1, 2007

It’s alive, Jim

Filed under: General — Tom @ 2:01 pm

Crisis averted . . . sort of. There was definitely a crisis, only, once again, I was wrong. It turns out that it was actually RAM that had died on me. After getting a good night’s sleep, I tore into my computer this morning and something just wasn’t making sense. I removed all four hard drives, all of the cards, and both RAM chips, and still it beeped. And then I got thinking about those beeps. It was then that I realized that I’d forgotten that a computer beeps in code, so I looked up the code that goes with my motherboard’s BIOS and found that 1-second beeps followed by two seconds of silence, over and over again, often means a memory problem. So I sat back down and just stared for a minute or two, grabbed a can of compressed air, and began blowing. Put the RAM back in . . . BEEP . . . BEEP . . . BEEP. Then I thought, “Why not try just one of these at a time?” So I put in one . . . BEEP . . . BEEP . . . BEEP. And then the other . . . and it started right up!

So I’m hobbled a bit by using only half my RAM, but, really, I’ve been hobbled for a long time by faulty RAM that was causing a LOT of headaches. So now I just need to place another order with New Egg for some RAM this time, and I’ll be upgrading a bit to reach a very badly needed 2 gb rather than the 1gb I previously was using.

Let’s let this be it for the computer problems for a while, okay?

1 Comment »

  1. […] the number of computer and hard drive issues I’ve been having this week, I’m just holding off ripping CDs. I’ve got a little […]

    Pingback by lookout for hope | You’re not obliged to swallow anything you despise » Blog Archive » The news that’s fit to print — December 3, 2007 @ 12:05 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

