Known Johnson

December 22, 2007

Exchange rates

Filed under: General — Tom @ 12:00 am

While eating lunch at Whataburger after a short day at work, I witnessed a little parade of five or six golf carts through the window across the restaurant. It was, in a word I don’t typically use, “cute.” The moment I saw them in their little procession, all five in a neat little train, spaced a cart-length or so apart and occupied by one person each, my brain cued up that marching band parade song I’m sure we all have hard-wired into our brain from countless appearances in TV shows. I’m sure someone in the restaurant wondered what I was smiling at. Little did they know I was suppressing a laugh.

Again I was reading David Sedaris at the shot lab today. I haven’t had much of a chance to read the past couple weeks, for whatever reason, so this was the first time since my last time a couple weeks ago – I had to skip out last week because of bad timing, unfortunately. This time turned out to be good timing, at least in terms of reading, as I got to Sedaris’ story “6 to 8 Black Men” (read or listen,) his piece about how Christmas Critmuh, and especially Santa, is experienced in the Netherlands. It’s hilarious, and reading it in public is not a good idea for even the most stoic of readers – of which I typically am. I had a hard time stifling my laughter at many points. Maybe it was my good mood today or something, I don’t know, but his take on their, frankly, bizarre version of good ol’ St. Nick is pretty hard not to laugh at.

Interesting side story regarding Sedaris. I had his Live at Carnegie Hall CD a few years ago. I lent it to a coworker who shared a similarly fond interest in him and promptly forgot about it. Months went by and it continued to be forgotten, and then he decided it was time to move on, quit, and moved out of state to live nearer his boyfriend. At some point after this, the CD was remembered/rediscovered, and he promised he would make it up to me. Come the next visit, he brings not the CD but a replica monkey skull as, I suppose, repayment for the disc. I lend out a CD and get a replica monkey skull in return. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a cool monkey skull. I’m just saying, it’s an odd exchange rate.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

