Known Johnson

January 8, 2008

Today’s dilemma

Filed under: General — Tom @ 8:14 pm

I’m seriously contemplating investing in a Wacom Intuos3, which is a graphics tablet on which you draw with a pen rather than a mouse. It’s not a cheap toy, so this is something I really have to think about. After 12+ years of computer-aided drawing, I’ve created my own techniques with a mouse that are pretty unusual. Working with a tablet will be truly starting over again in a couple of ways. Not only is it a new medium for the computer, I’ve also kind of lost a lot of my ability to draw by hand. My art skills are through the mouse – I am truly a digital artist through and through. The thought of using something that works and acts like a pen or pencil is daunting. I fear I’ll invest the several hundred dollars and wind up frustrated and annoyed, and in the end realize I can do exactly what I want with my mouse. I know what I can do. What I can’t know is what I can’t do with my mouse and what I could only do with the graphics tablet and pen. But, really, after all these years, I might really need a change in my process anyway. Sometimes it’s good to throw something “dangerous” into the old gears, just to see how it makes you fix things.

Update: I can’t believe it – I just placed my order for one of these:

Wacom Intuos3 6x8

Kind of sucks it won’t be in stock until the middle of next week, but that gives me a week to change my mind . . .

Sub-Update: Definitely made the right decision – Amazon jumped the price back up by about $15 overnight. Right time, right place, right price. Sometimes things just fall in your lap and you don’t even realize it until later.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

