Known Johnson

January 17, 2008

Thinkful wishing

Filed under: General — Tom @ 11:54 pm

One day wasn’t enough, as always. I find myself at the very tail end of today and I can’t believe yesterday was only . . . yesterday. As a day off, it was busier than it should have been, but it was still a nice day. I got to play with Amanda – we went outside for a bit and attempted to play t-ball, which, for whatever reason, she had tremendous interest in last week but now suddenly shows almost no interest in and simply insists that I hit the ball instead of her. She, in the meantime, stood in the branches of a low-hanging tree and squealed “I’m hiding!” in delight.

My new earphones arrived late yesterday afternoon and I spent most of last night immersed in them, ears plugged up with sound, amazed at the details they were revealing to me. I won’t bore you with a review but I will say this: you get what you pay for when it comes to these, at least. I had hoped it would be with the similarly priced Shures I got a year ago, but that was not the case (and, as I see from reviews, I’m not the only one that feels that way.) Those Shures are up on Ebay to make back at least some of the money invested in them. Hopefully. I won’t say that losing money on those Shures to find my way to these Etymotics has been worth it, but there’s a kind of joy in being able to hear things like drummer Manu Katche taking a deep breath before a big run in one of his songs from Playground that just can’t be counted in financial terms.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

