Known Johnson

January 22, 2008

Running to stand still

Filed under: General,Migraine — Tom @ 4:18 pm

I’ve been thinking about migraines today because, well, I feel kind of crappy, unfortunately. Yesterday started out bad, got better, and then by bedtime, I started feeling weird again. Headachey and crappy feeling, but it’s not terrible. There are just days like this. You learn to live with them. Luckily I have fewer of them now than ever before.

In thinking about it, I’ve hit Google because it’s always fascinating to read other people’s experiences, such as the bizarre Alice In Wonderland syndrome, something I get from time to time (essentially, you or part of you feels out of proportion with the rest of you or the world. It is VERY strange. What I repeatedly experience is that my head feels very far away from the rest of me, and if I don’t concentrate on my hands, say, when I’m typing, they will look from the bottom of my eyes to be about two feet further away than they really are. Once I look at them they’re fine, but the sensation will return once I take my concentration away. It’s not disturbing, just weird. You get used to things like this, believe it or not.)

When I was a kid, I used to have a really strange phenomenon that repeated many nights. I would start to drift off to sleep but would find it hard to commit, and instead I would be in a state of some kind in between where a kind of static was all around me. It’s hard for me not to think of this without thinking of vomit – I never got sick, but that’s how it made me feel. It was a very rhythmic, unrelenting static/snow going on in the background of my mind and on top of it was a feeling of being pursued and panicky. If actual events were happening in it, they happened in slow motion, but very angry slow motion. For instance, if my parents were in it, they would be yelling at me at their most angry, shaking their fingers, in a rage, but it would be happening very slowly. This happened a lot, or enough to make a deep impression on me, for I still think of it often today. I may never know what the hell was going on back then. At least it doesn’t happen anymore – I think I’d be in need of some seriously psychiatric help if I still suffered these things.

3 Comments »

  1. You and me both. Last Thursday and Friday I had back to back migraines. A week or so earlier, the same thing happened. These last two weren’t remarkable in any way other than that this time, the auras started from my peripheral vision and went inward instead of starting at the center and going outward, as usual.

    I remember as a kid experiencing something that, now that I think about it, may have been AIWS. I’d be drifting of to sleep, and if I happened to see a hair or a crumb or some other small bit of something on my pillow, close to my face, it would all the sudden seem impossibly huge. It’s hard to described, because my visual perception of the thing didn’t really change, but it *felt* huge…as if had I tried to wrap my arms around it, I wouldn’t have been able to.

    Comment by UncleMidriff — January 22, 2008 @ 5:00 pm | Reply

  2. There is a medical term for that state you mention. I can’t recall what it is offhand, though. 😦

    Comment by Solomon Broad — January 22, 2008 @ 5:03 pm | Reply

  3. That sounds exactly like it. It’s a very, very weird sensation, and reading other people’s experiences, what I go through is pretty minimal, thankfully, compared to what other people have to deal with. Luckily it doesn’t happen all that often, but when it does it sure is disorienting.

    Comment by Tom — January 22, 2008 @ 11:30 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

