Known Johnson

January 23, 2008

Nutty pot

Filed under: General — Tom @ 11:44 pm

A few years ago a coworker of mine revealed to us that he enjoyed the benefits of this thing called a neti pot. In case you don’t know – in case you somehow missed one of Oprah’s earth-shattering events in which she declared this a Favorite Thing, neti pots are basically, as Dr. Oz explained on her show, “nose bidets.” It washes your nose out with a sterile saline solution. For those of us who have really bad allergies, this is a good thing. I have the drugs, which work fairly well, and I have this little squeeze bottle of saline that I shoot up there trying to help, but I knew in the back of my mind that I needed to give one of these contraptions a shot – scary as they may be. Water up my nose? Not exactly something most of us seek out. But seek it out I did.

Back then, my coworker sent this horrifying video of what appeared to be cyborgs using the neti pot. It made us all laugh, and really no one took it seriously. He laughed too, but I suspect that he really did continue using it despite he claims that he bought it on a whim and tried it on a dare. Watching that video again, it’s hard not to get freaked out, but I’ve seen nothing but praise for them, so I’ve been looking for these things for a while and always missed my opportunity to pick them up. Well, tonight, while at Walgreen’s, my opportunity presented itself in the last neti pot in the store. “You better grab that one quick, they go fast,” the pharmacist said, and I did grab it. Now I needed to build up confidence to use it.

It looks like a little blue, plastic teapot. Imagine sticking the spout of that up your nose. I’m sure it’s blue to soothe worried nerves but, really, come on. We’re talking about purposely putting water up my nose. I hesitantly mixed in the saline and carefully re-read the instructions, then put the spout up to my nose. For a moment, it felt exactly like I worried it would – like I was drowning, and then, a moment later, the water came right back out my other nostril. I switched sides, and not much later I was done. I blew my nose and it was then that I understood. I could breathe. I mean really breathe – through both nostrils, something I rarely get the opportunity to do with ease. Suffering the past week with some pretty bad sinus headaches, this is truly amazing.

I’ll have to do this a few more times before I get the full benefits out of it, but I’m already sold. I won’t, however, ever do this:

2 Comments »

  1. TheWifeToWhomI’mMarried swears by this device, Tom.

    Comment by Josh Hathaway — January 24, 2008 @ 12:26 pm | Reply

  2. […] been using my neti pot for the past month and now have run out of the included salt packets that go in the water for it, […]

    Pingback by Salt nuts — February 17, 2008 @ 11:28 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

