Known Johnson

January 27, 2008

Rain, rain go away ye bastard

Filed under: General,Migraine — Tom @ 9:37 pm

It began raining sometime last night and hasn’t let up once. Not once. It never stopped raining this entire day. I’m not exaggerating – there has not been a point in this entire day when there wasn’t water falling from the sky. That is extremely unusual. I like rain. We don’t get that much of it here in Arizona. But I like rain where it falls and makes things wet and shiny and the air smell like ozone and then it goes away, and the sun peeks out from behind the clouds. I don’t like when the day is just grey-blue. It’s miserable, and that’s kind of how the day felt. I could never make it in a place like Seattle.

Regardless, it was a productive day. I went out and got a couple of air filters for the cars and replaced both the engine and cabin air filters . . . well, I replaced my engine air filter because the one I got for Alissa’s car turned out to be the wrong one. Stupid book at Pep Boys listed two filters for her Accord. I grabbed the second one for no apparent reason and it turned out to be wrong for no apparent reason. And after all that damned work – Honda doesn’t make it easy like some other manufactures do to replace air filters. You know, a few nice clips and it pops open. No, they’ve got screws and then some screwy orientation where junk is attached that keeps the filter cover from moving. It was a job and it shouldn’t have been. I blame this on Honda’s ridiculous desire to keep owners coming back to them for service. I don’t like doing these jobs myself, but I know for $15 I can do this in 15 minutes. Sure I’ll be a mess, but it’s a lot cheaper than having them do it. As for the cabin air filter, this is always a nice service – it takes 2 minutes and is very easy, and the end result is clean, fresh air that flows a lot faster. (And, believe it or not, I ordered those filters online – it was far cheaper to order two and pay shipping than to buy both and get them locally. That’s kind of sad, but it’s reality.)

Then I hung up a couple of very clever devices. If I had any idea what they were called, I’d tell you, but I’ll just have to describe: they simply hold your handled yard tools (rakes, brooms, shovels, etc.) by pressure exerted with a little rolling wheel that moves up against the handle, so many different sizes can be handled easily. It’s a very handy way to clean up a messy bunch of tools like I have and took about 15 minutes to install. Bought ’em at Costco if you’re looking for them for about $6 (for two!)

I also installed my new CD/DVD writer tonight, which, so far hasn’t panned out at all. The drive came with a SATA data cable but unfortunately did not come with a 4-pin molex to SATA power converter cable, leaving with an unusable new drive in place of my old unusable drive, and now a second unusable drive because I messed up the heirarchy by removing the master (the old, bad drive) and didn’t make any changes to my back-up drive. Nevermind – I know this is all geek speak. Suffice it to say that I can’t do much of anything when it comes to CDs or CDRs/DVDRs until at least tomorrow evening if I get the proper converter cable. Sigh – it never ends with computers.

We took Amanda to Cold Stone Creamery last night where she got a little cup of strawberry ice cream with M&Ms mixed in. She didn’t quite get the “mix in” concept and picked out the M&Ms by hand to eat separately. She enjoyed it, however, and, as they say, it all ends up in the same place anyway. Feeling adventurous, I had my first chocolate ice cream in about 18 months last night. I got a waffle bowl with chocolate and Reese’s peanut butter cups. It was everything I hoped it would be.

For those keeping track, I’m pretty sure I can confirm that chocolate does not trigger migraines but an unusual craving may be a warning sign. Friday I came home from work with chocolate on my mind and it simply would not let me go. I avoided it and, in fact, avoided caffeine, just to see what would happen. Wouldn’t you know it, in the middle of the night I awoke to the alarming flashing of lights in my head, and later a typical, but not awful migraine ensued. No chocolate, no caffeine, but still a migraine. Eat what you want, people, it’s not food that’s causing these things. Face the likely fact that some of us are just susceptible to something, perhaps hormonal, that causes migraines, while others never get them.

Eh, I had more to say, but honestly I just want to go sit down. Today is over.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

