Known Johnson

February 10, 2008

Perpendicular hesitations?

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:59 pm

This posts exists for no reason other than that I desperately needed to use the title somewhere, being found in a piece of comment-spam deleted from my queue just moments ago.

At the moment my Ipod has just finished “restoring,” which is Apple-speak for “reformatting,” a term they apparently don’t like because it sounds very Windows-y, I guess. I do this from time to time – I just think it’s good form to give an operating system a refresh from time to time, especially something that gets used a lot, and since the Ipod is a small computer, it will respond well to this. And it does – it always queues up songs faster and dismounts from Itunes and the computer much quicker in the weeks following a restore. This also gives me an excuse to come up with a new giant playlist to use when filling the Ipod, as no matter what I do, things grow stale over time. A blank slate is always good. Sure, plenty of the same things wind up in the new playlist, but lots of stuff gets left behind in place of other possible long-ignored stuff. It’s good to do this from time to time. Starting over is good.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.