Known Johnson

February 11, 2008

Insert clever Monday-related title

Filed under: General,Music — Tom @ 9:48 pm

The Grammies are over and gone, thankfully, and I have a few thoughts over here. Not to mention some news about the next round of U2 remasters that some may find exciting, like I did.

Amanda is already outgrowing her car seat. How is this possible? I remember when we bought the ones we currently have in each of our vehicles that we bought them thinking that there was no way she would outgrow them before she was like four years old. Surprise – she’s taller than the shoulder belts now, and has earned the right to graduate to a booster seat. It doesn’t seem possible. So we’ve been out looking at those, trying to find one that seems the safest and easiest to use. Amanda finds this very exciting. On the plus side, these are seats that can easily be taken out and put in the trunk. On the downside, it’s another seat to buy and that means another seat to put in storage. It never ends, does it?

No, it doesn’t . . . because we also need a better stroller. The small one we have is, well, kinda crappy and she’s outgrowing that as well. She can walk most places but anyone depending on toddlers to walk everywhere is asking for trouble. But finding a stroller that suits our needs is difficult – what we need is one with everything that also happens to fold up very small. See, I have a trunk in my truck but it’s a bit smaller than Alissa’s car’s trunk, so it has to be narrow, or very flat, when folded up. This is a fascinating discussion topic, I know. It’s a much harder thing to find than you might realize. I know what I’m looking for, but we may have found it tonight. It’s only lacking cupholders, which is something that can be added with add-on things that I’ve seen. Those of you without kids yet, you will understand why this subject weighs so heavily on my mind someday.

And then it was over to Borders for what I thought was a quick trip to pick up the Pixies’ Surfer Rosa Mobile Fidelity SACD, which Borders’ site assured me would be in stock. And it wasn’t, which normally wouldn’t be a big deal but proves frustrating when you’ve got a 3-day 40% off coupon. So I looked around and staring right at me was the big, beautiful deluxe edition of Tears For Fears’ Songs From The Big Chair, something I’ve wanted a long, long time but inexplicably never bought. The coupon specifically said “single-disc CDs” and this is obviously a two-disc set, but I decided to give it a try. A short while later I walked out of the store, $19 poorer but richer for all the rarities on this set. That’s how the music bug works, people. You can always find something.

3 Comments »

  1. You should get the Jeep umbrella stroller. It has the big wheels and goes over nasty terrain and holds up to like 40lbs, I think, and folds up small like a cheapy umbrella stroller would. We have 2 of them (one stays at my mom’s house) and use them a lot. The Jeep strollers comes w/ a cup holder you can put on and two little bags that can be snapped onto the sides to hold some stuff (like kid stuff).

    Comment by bekah — February 12, 2008 @ 2:08 pm | Reply

  2. We’ve looked at the Jeeps but unfortunately they’re only rated to 35lbs (I think this is the same model you’re talking about – it sounds the same.) Otherwise it would have been perfect – and Toys R Us had one on clearance for $19.99 this weekend. The one I mentioned above is bigger, and since Amanda’s right at 35lbs now she’s going to outgrow these ones in the very near future.

    I really never thought I’d 1) spend much time looking at strollers or 2) get even slightly excited about getting a stroller.

    Comment by Tom — February 12, 2008 @ 3:22 pm | Reply

  3. After looking at the stroller you linked, it looks nicer than the Jeep one, anyway, because it’s got that handy dandy little basket under the seat. I love that on our big Graco stroller and use it all the time. The Jeep one doesn’t do that, probably because then I could only carry a 10 pound kid.

    Comment by bekah — February 13, 2008 @ 1:07 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

