Known Johnson

March 1, 2008

Welcome to the vomitarium

Filed under: General — Tom @ 9:49 pm

We were awoken at about 4:45 to the sounds of Amanda coughing. It was a terrible, painful sound, and I leapt out of bed before I could really think. I found her standing in her bed, shaking, scared, crying. It was only when I went to pick her up that I realized what had happened – the dark light of the room prevented me from seeing much of anything, but it was clear what was going on as soon as I picked her up. The moment she was in the air, a great heaving sound welled up from in her and before I knew it, a great torrent of fluid purged forth from her mouth . . . all over my arm.

She’s never been a puker. She’s only done this, really, once before, on a drive to my parent’s house in the morning, and that was an isolated incident. Alissa and I hoped that this one would be like that, too – perhaps a bit of acid reflux or something. We gave her a bit of water to soothe her raw throat and wash that terrible taste away, but learned a half hour or so away that it was not going to be a solitary incident, and a half hour after that we learned that it wouldn’t just be a pair of them . . . it kept going on for a few hours. And then it stopped and she was back to normal. We let her eat, cautiously, all day, and nothing happened, not the slightest hint of a problem arose.

We just put her to bed about 20 minutes ago, having had a small dinner of pasta and apple sauce a couple hours before that, and a little bit of sliced cheese that she insisted upon. Just a few minutes before I wrote this, the coughing began from her room, and we launched an offensive upon her bedside, only to find her standing next to a stinky pool of partially digested spaghetti and liquid cheese. “I spilled noodles,” she said, voice shaking from crying. It was reverse macaroni and cheese. I’m glad I don’t eat mac and cheese because I’d never touch that stuff again after this.

3 Comments »

  1. Don’t read this if you get woozie easily. It’s nasty!

    Hate to break this to you, but Abby had the bug and she was still puking over a week later! It started LAST Wednesday, and to be honest, I think her hiccups smell like puke today, so I wonder if we have something coming as soon as she goes down for a nap today. We’re sneaking up on 2 weeks of this I-feel-great-and-want-to-play mixed with bouts of dear-God-what-is-all-of-this-coming-out-of-my-mouth-Mommy? The laundry is killing us!

    If it’s any consolation, she’s been to the doctor and she’s fine despite the bouts of vomiting. Also, you may remember she’s always had an easy vomit trigger, so perhaps you’ll get off easier than we did.

    If you’re really lucky, you’ll get the REALLY smelly you-know-what to go along with it.

    Pardon me, but do you have any Grey Poupon?

    Sorry, I couldn’t resist!

    Comment by Lisa — March 2, 2008 @ 2:10 pm | Reply

  2. Do I have any grey poop on what?

    She seems to be okay today – no problems after the internally-made mac-n-cheese last night, amazingly. We haven’t allowed her to eat anything even remotely heavy today, however – it’s been apples, crackers, and Cheerios, basically anything light enough to pass through quickly, and it appears that whatever this was has passed on. Luckily, neither of us seems to be coming down with anything, so maybe it was just a weird fluke bug that she picked up. I don’t know. Kids, they pick up some weird shit.

    Comment by Tom — March 2, 2008 @ 8:39 pm | Reply

  3. […] white text on a black background just about one of the most unpleasant things to happen since I got vommed upon this […]

    Pingback by Dusters: a dichotomy — March 4, 2008 @ 10:40 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

