Known Johnson

March 22, 2008

Now that’s Classic

Filed under: General — Tom @ 8:38 am

The move has been made. After months and months of drooling and wishing and dreaming, I finally committed to a 160gb Ipod Classic, in silver. I would have one in my hands right now were it not for Costco’s and Sam’s Club’s reluctance to carry that particular color. I almost settled for black but after thinking about it decided that compromise is just not something I should do on a $330 purchase. This is one time when the phrase “once you go black you never go back” has not proven true. I like my current 80gb Ipod in black, but once I had it for a while, I realized I kind of missed that classic Ipod look. So silver it is.

I’m really pretty excited about this. Walking out of Costco and Sam’s Club last night empty handed was extremely disappointing – I wanted to be filling it all night and play with it all weekend. Now I have to wait for Amazon to deliver it on Monday (I know: pity me waiting three days.) Once I get my mind set on something, that is it. Any deviance from that path results in annoyance and depression. We got ice cream from Cold Stone Creamery, which kind of made up for it.

With this comes the concern about a new case. It needs to be covered in something. I’ve never understood why it is that Apple sees the thriving case market yet never thinks to simply cover their Ipods in something durable themselves. The polished metal back is beautiful but scratches so easily. The fact that a company has employed something developed by the military for a mere $25 (InvisibleShield) that truly lives up to its name boggles my mind – extremely strong, extremely thin, it doesn’t look like anything is even on your Ipod, but it’s almost fully protected from scratches. Why wouldn’t Apple simply apply something like that at the factory and negate the need for a great number of these cases? Most people are concerned about scratches, not protecting their Ipods from falls I’ve dropped mine only a couple of times in the entire 3 years I’ve owned them – only once at a significant height.) So I’m considering eschewing a “traditional” silicone case in favor of the InvisibleShield, or going for a ContourCase from which the Ipod can be easily removed. I’ll likely be hitting the Apple store today, along with all the other Apple loonies, to see what is on offer there.

So, who wants an 80gb Ipod?

2 Comments »

  1. Mememe!

    My 4th generation iPod just went kaput. Files corrupt or something, and it locks up constantly.

    Comment by UncleMidriff — March 22, 2008 @ 9:11 am | Reply

  2. […] my playlist for my Ipod, a list of about 115gb of music I’ve been compiling since I got my 160gb a month ago. I meant to simply delete something from the playlist and, in a haze of stupidity and self-assured […]

    Pingback by Clumsy me — April 26, 2008 @ 3:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

