Known Johnson

March 25, 2008

There must be more

Filed under: Ipod/Iphone,Migraine — Tom @ 10:47 am

My new Ipod arrived yesterday. Amanda ran around to the front door to retrieve the amazingly small box when we got home – Ipods come in smaller and smaller boxes as time goes on. My first one, a 4th generation 40gb model, came in what I guess is a 6″ x 6″ cube box. The next, the just-retired 5.5 gen 80gb, came in a 6″ x 6″ x 1.5″ or so box. This one? Just a little 5″ x 2″ x 1.5″ or so box. There’s something to be said about the perceived amount of money being spent on these – back when the Ipod was still “new,” spending $350 on something like this was a lot of money, so the package needed to be bigger and more meaningful. Now that it’s such an important part of so many of our daily lives, and that these are often replacements rather than new items for many of us, it’s more of a commodity and doesn’t need to look quite so impressive. Smaller boxes = more Ipods in shipping boxes = lower shipping costs for Apple. Weird how that happens, huh?

Some of my excitement was dampened, however, by an oncoming migraine. I didn’t realize at the time, but something was clearly wrong. The whole day, in fact, something was wrong – I just felt “off,” weirdly hungry, and craving – this should have tipped me off – a Mr. Goodbar. And ONLY a Mr. Goodbar. Nothing else would do. About the time I made dinner I started feeling exhaustion and achiness setting in, but not in a normal way. Within a couple hours, my head was slowly cranking up the hurting, and I realized I was getting very annoyed with sounds around me – I couldn’t focus. I remembered reading something about taking Tylenol to head off a migraine, so I jumped on the computer and read up on it and sure enough, that is recommended. Not too much later I did indeed feel a little better, but still very exhausted. Unfortunately, I woke up this morning feeling much the same, and not much else has changed. That is life for us migraine sufferers. It’s not awful, I’ve had much worse, but it’s not how I wanted to spend today.

So, for the time being, my new Ipod is gleaming silver in its new case . . . ignored. There’s already over 90gb of stuff on there and I want to listen but every time I go to listen, I just can’t because, like last night, my brain is annoyed. That I managed to sit and fill it last night is pretty amazing to me, given how irritable and crappy I was starting to feel. That said, I’m pretty thrilled that the 90gb represents the majority “gotta have it,” large-capacity stuff (King Crimson catalog: 7gb,) and what goes on there from now on will be bands with one or two albums. Yet part of me keeps thinking, “90gb? I’ve got 240gb on my computer. There must be a lot more I’m forgetting about that I have to have . . .” I hope not!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

