Known Johnson

April 21, 2008

Slow down

Filed under: General — Tom @ 7:00 am

Overheard at the store yesterday: “I heard that Duran Duran song and now I can’t get it out of my dumb head.”

Sometimes it seems things get too busy and if you don’t slow down, life comes along and figures out a way to make you slow down. That’s what this past week has been for me – a forced slow down. I broke my toe and now can’t do much of anything – can’t drive anywhere, can’t walk much, and so can’t do most of the things that occupied my weekends before. What did I do instead? I sat. It felt incredible. I needed this very, very badly – and I’m not talking about in terms of healing my broken toe. When we did go out, all it did was remind me how very much I simply wanted to be home, foot in the air on my pile o’ pillows, rather than praying someone didn’t absent-mindedly back into my foot in one of the crowded aisles.

And how are things with the foot? Good, I think. The swelling is still there, or something that makes my toe look really fat, but the bruising has gone way down. It’s still very sensitive – I can’t put the toe down onto the floor with any weight or it just sends a shock right up my spine – but I think that’s to be expected. When I returned to work last week the first thing people said when seeing The Shoe was “that’s it? There’s nothing covering your broken toe?!” And that’s how I feel – it’s constantly on my mind that something could drop on it, or bump into it, whatever. Nothing has, yet, and actually The Shoe has proven a toe-saver at least once when I hopped out of bed in the middle of the night and didn’t really think about where I was walking. I slammed my foot into a little foot stool I couldn’t see in the dark. Without this thing on, I would surely have been in extreme pain, if not right back where I was on the previous Saturday – or worse. That poor toe feels very exposed and vulnerable.

That could change today, as I have an appointment to see how my progress is coming along, and hopefully I’ll be getting out of this awful shoe and into something more comfortable. I’m starting to pick up some discomfort in other areas – my heal is sore, my ankle is sore from the angle, etc. – that I’m sure can’t be good for a long time, but we’ll see. I’ve actually had a very happy thought pass through my head many times of taking this shoe and cutting the big, chunky, angled part off with one pass on large table saw. I hate it and am so tired of walking on it that I sometimes forgetfully walking heal-to-toe on it – a big no-no. I honestly don’t know what I’ll do if she suggests continuing to walk on this thing – I have reached my saturation point with this and I don’t think I can take it much longer. I am not too proud to beg.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

