Known Johnson

April 25, 2008

Beck – Sea Change MFSL

Filed under: Music — Tom @ 4:37 pm

seachangeOf interest to a few readers, Mobile Fidelity will soon be releasing their version of Beck’s Sea Change. This should be really nice – the album was well-recorded to begin with, with a lush, deep, somber sound, which should give the MoFi people something really rich to mold and bring out details that have previously been hidden by traditional mastering techniques. I wish I could say I have the original to compare it to when it arrives, but it is one of those albums that fell victim to any one of many factors that lead to it finding a new home many years ago. That won’t happen again – I’ve missed it for a long time, and am thrilled to see that this audiophile pressing is coming along in the next few weeks or so (presumably, since it can now be ordered.)

Also coming soon, for big Beck fans, is MoFi’s version of Odelay. I think their info is mistaken – it reads as if it’s the new two-disc deluxe, but it most likely will be the single disc issue with no bonus cuts. If it is two discs, it’s a steal, being cheaper than the deluxe! Alas, I’m not that big of a Beck fan, so Sea Change will suit my needs . . .

1 Comment »

  1. I’m going to have to consider all of this. I have the SACD version of Sea Change as well as the conventional CD. I might have to throw down on the MoFi version of the record.

    Similarly, I have both versions of Odelay. CLASSIC record. I might have to break down and buy the MoFi version of that as well.

    Outstanding, all of it.

    Comment by Josh Hathaway — April 29, 2008 @ 3:40 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

