Known Johnson

May 27, 2008

Fashion Police

Filed under: Music — Tom @ 12:04 pm

Rock fashion is very often a bad thing. We all know that. We saw the Police (with Elvis Costello opening) Saturday night. It was an incredible show (but Elvis might have slightly outdone Sting & Co.) but I found myself terribly distracted by Andy Summers’ choice of shirts.

Andy Summers’ terrible shirtYou see, it’s kind of one of those “your innards” types of things, but updated for the 21st century, maybe. It looks like the ribs are made of a shiny gold metal and there are bright silvery screws holding everything together. Now, this would be a questionable fashion choice on even a younger guy, but Andy Summers is sixty six years old. I don’t mean to sound cruel, but it looks ridiculous on a guy that old. I don’t want to hear any comments about “he’s a rock star, he can look any way he wants.” You can’t tell me this is a good look.

The biggest problem is that once I really noticed this shirt, I couldn’t stop looking at it. And I’m a creative person. Once I notice something, I start really thinking about them, and with this shirt, I really began thinking about how it came to be at this concert. From Andy picking it out of his closet, thinking “Hmm, this looks great, I’ll wear this tonight!” to him wandering into some Hot Topic-like store in England or wherever and seeing this on a rack, thinking to himself, “Blimey! I’ve got to get meself one of those,” all the way back to someone sitting down and designing this, thinking, “You know what the world needs? A techno update of the old skeleton t-shirt.”

And then I began to laugh. Out loud. In the middle of a concert. A lot. Over and over again. I stopped . . . just in time for Andy to pop back on the screen, shirt filling the view, and then I’d start again. After a while, I had to tell Alissa, who also began laughing when I simply said “Where did he get that shirt?!” and who also began to laugh when I laughed at the sight of him on screen. And then I had to share with my friend who was sitting on the other side of me, who kept looking at me as I giggled, and he started laughing after I yelled in his ear “I am completely obsessed with Andy’s shirt!”

boneshirtAnd just when I thought I got myself calmed down, I suddenly remembered the credits of This is Spinal Tap when Marti DiBergi is asking Nigel Tufnel about his skeleton shirt . . . and it began again. “This is my exact inner structure, done in a tee shirt. Exactly medically accurate.” It’s pretty hard to take anything seriously when you have that running through your head. At least the music was good.

This is my life. I take music as a deadly serious subject, except when I don’t.

Anyway, watch from about 1:04 and you’ll see the scene I’m talking about (or just get the movie – a classic, hilarious from start to finish):

1 Comment »

  1. I can’t believe nobody else commented on this one yet! That is ridiculously funny! I love the picture and the clip to go with it — just to seal the deal of this being ridiculous AND funny. Seriously though, what WAS he thinking????

    Comment by Lisa — June 5, 2008 @ 8:30 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

