Known Johnson

June 12, 2008

Movin’ on up

Filed under: General — Tom @ 4:48 pm

Not to the eastside, nor to a de-luxe apartment in the sky – the Jeffersons had it so good. I’m simply dumping having my site hosted on my own domain and moving it to WordPress.com where the WordPress install will be updated by them all the time and I don’t have to worry about 133t h@x04 types who want to play with everyone’s blog. Hopefully you won’t see much of anything – WordPress hosts domains, as well, so I just need to transfer my domain to them, move the contents of this (and all my previous sites – yes, everything will be in ONE place for once!) and I’ll be up and running again. I wish I had a way to bring back my very first incarnations of unproductivity.com, which is tucked safely away at home, but I’m honestly not sure how to import the contents of that without installing somehow . . . and I have no idea how to do that at this point. That’s something like five years in the past. I will recover it somehow, just not right now.

You may encounter a day or two with no access, but it’ll be back, I promise. It’s better than my previous plan: I was going to dump everything all together and start over anew. I kind of like that. It’s sort of like closing a chapter. Blogs are like books to me, I guess, seeing as this is my, what, sixth? Seven years of this and I’ve had nearly that many sites. I get to a point where I feel like I’ve said all I wanted to say here, and I “finish,” then start writing the next one. But this one’s not done yet, I suppose. There is more to be said.

1 Comment »

  1. […] all former homes for my missives. I’ve managed to follow through on what I’d mentioned a while back about moving the site over to WordPress.com for hosting so they could take care of keeping […]

    Pingback by Can’t get there from here — July 17, 2008 @ 8:14 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

