Known Johnson

July 28, 2008

Sick or something?

Filed under: General — Tom @ 10:49 pm

A first: Amanda’s first movie this weekend, Wall-e. We really didn’t know if she would be able to handle it, as we’ve actually never sat and watched a feature-length anything with her, but she apparently watched Finding Nemo with Alissa’s mom one day and all was well. But being in a theater is a different experience. It went well, but the last 30 or 40 minutes found her attention waning – it’s not quite the kids’ movie that Disney wants you to believe it is, despite the overwhelming number of cute robot designs.

On a completely different note, I feel like I’m constantly having to update something related to the Ipods we own. I’m sure that’s not a coincidence, right? This week, I have come to the conclusion that the Ipod adapter that mates to my truck’s stereo to give me the rich, clear sound I demand (as opposed to crappy FM modulators) is failing in some aspect. I don’t know how or why – I just know that if you play the same CD as something on the Ipod, it is very noticeable that much of the right channel does not play correctly, and subsequently much of the bass is absent. I checked it out in Alissa’s car, which has the same setup, and it plays as expected, so it has to be the input box we both have in our vehicles. This sucks. So, another one has been ordered from an authorized Ebay reseller. Yay – I get to sit out in my hot truck in the hot garage this hot weekend.

Amanda was home sick today, or something. “Sick or something,” I mean, no one knows what it was. She woke up with a horrible cough, the kind that leads to, as she puts it, “spitting out,” a process known to everyone else as “puking.” Alissa and I only have a very small window of time to make diagnoses in the morning, and in that time she was coughing to near “spitting out” many times, which leads her to not want to eat anything for fear of “spitting out.” My parents are watching her this week after nearly a month of Alissa’s parents watching due to various things – vacation, surgery, etc. – and I just cannot send a sick child over to my dad who is recovering from pretty major surgery. Not that he can’t handle it – he can. He’s doing incredibly well, but I’m not going to inflict any extra suffering on him, and I was imaging how Amanda’s awful coughs would feel for him, who has a handful of very tender just-healing wounds all over his stomach. We made the call and decided Amanda was staying home. I had a sick day remaining for the rest of August (our fiscal year refreshes in September) and this is why we have them. And Alissa’s parents need the break, too.

By about 10:30, Amanda all but better. The occasional cough surfaced, but it was obvious that she was basically okay. We watched Toy Story (this went over better than Wall-e) and played, and when I thought she was doing okay, I figured she could go out, so we went to Costco, and this is where I diverge entirely from this line of thought.

Pay attention, movie lovers: Costco has a very limited number of the Kubrick Collection for (sit down for this) $34.95. I saw it, fondled it gently, lovingly, and then put it back. By the time we came back around the store, I was on my Iphone, checking out prices on Amazon for the set and individual releases of 2001: A Space Odyssey, A Clockwork Orange, and The Shining (the individual films I own.) I came to the conclusion that even if I got only $8 or so selling them on Amazon, or even less, it would make complete sense to buy the set. (I always figure in “opportunity cost” into my realistic view of owning something for a while – regardless of how many times I may have gotten to watch or listen to something, I have had 8 months to do so. Making back $24 of a $35 set is more than worth it.) So get to Costco and pick up a set NOW if you love Kubrick and don’t own these two-disc sets yet. This is why I own an Iphone. So I can stand in the middle of aisles at Costco and check prices on things at Amazon that I already know I should just buy, which is exactly what I did. Splurging is good for your health, by the way.

Funny enough, later in the day, I found myself with a tickle in the throat and a persistent, annoying cough. Sick or something? I don’t know.

3 Comments »

  1. Funny. I had that same tickle today! Did you get the headache with it? Ugh! My boss had to stay home with her kids, so you’re not the only one. Mine felt distinctly like allergies, though.

    Oh, and guess what Abby watched this very weekend? Toy Story 2! The original was already rented.

    YOU BASTARD!!!

    LOL!!!!!!

    Comment by Lisa — July 29, 2008 @ 12:30 am | Reply

  2. I paid around $120 for the Kubrick Collection in 2001. A couple of those titles (2001 and Clockwork Orange, not sure what others, if any) were given the deluxe treatment recently, which is kind of frustrating for me. But the Kubrick documentary that comes with the box set is very, very good.

    Comment by Chris — July 29, 2008 @ 9:07 am | Reply

  3. […] that worked out well. I mentioned Monday that I picked up that Kubrick box at Costco (for a mere $34.95) and I would put the three two-disc special editions that I got last Christmas, […]

    Pingback by Let’s make a deal — July 29, 2008 @ 11:08 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

